The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 19, 2016, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,030
Test Question 2

The Captain of Team B asks the R2 for the correct service order. The R2 puts the team in the incorrect order. Team B scores 3 points before the mistake is identified. Which procedure is correct?

* A. R2 calls illegal alignment, Team A is awarded a point but no points scored by Team B are canceled.
* B. The scorer realizes the mistake, but remains silent, because it is not her responsibility to assist with the service order.
* C. The timer should sound the horn to notify spectators of the problem, then time how long it takes to sort out the problem.
* D. The points scored by Team B are cancelled; Team B continues to serve with the correct server

My comments: It's not B or C. A doesn't make sense (to me) because you wouldn't give A the point / loss of rally and let B keep the points. D doesn't make sense (to me) because you wouldn't cancel the points and let B continue to server.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 19, 2016, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 594
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
D is the correct answer. You don't want to let the team score points with an incorrect server, but you cannot penalize them for a Referee mistake when they were clearly given incorrect information.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 19, 2016, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMadera View Post
D is the correct answer. You don't want to let the team score points with an incorrect server, but you cannot penalize them for a Referee mistake when they were clearly given incorrect information.
Thanks, Felix -- is there a rule reference for this (or just "common sense").
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 19, 2016, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 594
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Thanks, Felix -- is there a rule reference for this (or just "common sense").
Casebook 5.4.3 Situation D COMMENT.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
test question just another ref Basketball 5 Wed Nov 01, 2006 08:18pm
NJ Test Question PAT THE REF Baseball 2 Thu Apr 27, 2006 02:07pm
Question RE: Fed Test 1231234 Softball 3 Fri Feb 25, 2005 09:13am
test question 25 zac Basketball 21 Mon Oct 11, 2004 03:26pm
test question zac Basketball 7 Mon Oct 20, 2003 08:55am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1