The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 19, 2016, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,002
Test Question 1

Yes, these questions are from my pre-season test. And, No, I don't expect (or want) you just to give me the correct answer.

So, here's the question, and my reasoning / or request for further clarification.
A12 attacks the ball into B3, who is blocking. The ball rebounds off the block into the net and back into B3's chest while her hands are about (emphasis added) the height of the net. B3 then plays the ball. The correct procedure would be:
So -- does the word "about" have any meaning within this play? Did they really mean "above?" If so, is the second time B3 touches the ball (after the block, after the ball touches the net) still a block? If so, then this is "play on" -- B3 has had only one hit.

Or, if it's not a block, or they really meant "about" (meaning "not above"), then either way, it's two hits on B3.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 19, 2016, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 586
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
The word about here make the entire question pretty useless.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 19, 2016, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 135
I believe (not certain) it is a typo... should read "above." Illinois' volleyball test is notorious for this kind of confusion.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 19, 2016, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,002
So if it is supposed to be "above" -- can B block the ball twice? Or, is the second time (after the ball rebounds from the net) really the first hit?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 19, 2016, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 135
If B3, in close proximity to the net, is still reaching above the height of the net when the ball rebounds from the net back into her chest, it would be considered a single attempt to block.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 19, 2016, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 586
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Assuming B has yet to complete the block, is it really any different than blocking off the hands and rebounding into the head? Assuming it's part of one blocking action, I'd let this go.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2016, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
In this situation and in regards to the second contact (the ball rebounding from the net into the chest during the block) it is irrelevant where the hands are at that specific time. If B3 is still in the act of blocking, multiple contacts as described are permitted and considered as part of the original blocking action.

Based on FIVB rules the situation described is "play on".
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 16, 2016, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiller View Post
Based on FIVB rules...
NFHS rules are used by the association which created this question.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 16, 2016, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 87
In NFHS...

In this situation (blocking scenario), if any part of the body is above the net while in close proximity of the net, it's a block.

Play on. No call. Next player (that isn't a blocker) is the first contact.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Test question help zac Basketball 16 Sat Oct 31, 2009 08:35am
Question About the Test ref18 Basketball 17 Tue Oct 25, 2005 07:36am
test question zac Basketball 7 Mon Oct 20, 2003 08:55am
Take a second one-question test Carl Childress Baseball 14 Mon Dec 18, 2000 03:29pm
Take a one-question test Carl Childress Baseball 31 Tue Dec 05, 2000 11:34pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1