The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2000, 03:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Hmmmmmmmmm. Everybody seems to have disappeared. Perhaps it's all those dimpled ballots.

Take a one-question FED test.

R1 is stealing. B1 strikes out swinging and falls forward into the catcher's throwing lane, though he does not step out of the box. F2's throw is not in time to nab R1. The umpire judges the batter did hinder the catcher somewhat, but he believes R1 would have made the base even without the interference. The umpire should:

a. return R1 to first.
b. call out R1.
c. leave R1 at second only if he thinks the hindrance was accidental.
d. leave R1 at second because he had the base stolen, regardless.

No fair looking it up in the book.

[Edited by Carl Childress on Dec 5th, 2000 at 02:18 AM]
__________________
Papa C
My website
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2000, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 231
A.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2000, 09:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 9
b.
__________________
Charlie Breuninger
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2000, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
Talking Is TAHT your final Answer!!!!

b
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2000, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,071
a
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2000, 10:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
I believe correct answer is "A" although I would like answer to be "B". I will add, R1 better have had 2nd base WITHOUT A DOUBT. If there is ANY DOUBT that catcher may have been able to put out R1 had hindrance not occurred, I call R1 out due to interference by retired runner. I will not provide benefit of any doubt to offending team. A team should not benefit in any way by putting the official in the position of "must" make the call position.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2000, 11:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
I'll poll the audience - Answer (B)
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2000, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 476
Send a message via ICQ to SamNVa Send a message via AIM to SamNVa Send a message via Yahoo to SamNVa
I go with answer B as well. Reason: The batter is responsible for controlling his swing and any hindrance of the catcher's throw whether intentional or not would be interference.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2000, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 35
D. The batter remained in the box, and did nothing that affected the play. Why look for an interference that didn't happen?

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2000, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
In FED any movement, intentional or otherwise, in or out of the batters box, that hinders the catcher's attempt to make a play on a runner is interference.

In this case, on a strike three and runner beating the throw, return the runner.

Answer: A
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2000, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 476
Send a message via ICQ to SamNVa Send a message via AIM to SamNVa Send a message via Yahoo to SamNVa
But Carl's original post stated that the batter DID hinder the catcher.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2000, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 476
Send a message via ICQ to SamNVa Send a message via AIM to SamNVa Send a message via Yahoo to SamNVa
Quote:
Originally posted by GarthB
In FED any movement, intentional or otherwise, in or out of the batters box, that hinders the catcher's attempt to make a play on a runner is interference.

In this case, on a strike three and runner beating the throw, return the runner.

Answer: A
If you have interference on the batter who is already out, why wouldn't the answer be B - call the runner out. I've always heard that if you have interference somebody's gonna be called out. Since it can't be the batter, then it must be the runner.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2000, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Sam:

According to FED rules you would call the batter out, if he had not struck out, and returned the runner. Here, the batter is already out and FED makes no provision for gaining a second out, unless the interference prevented a "double play." In this case, according to Carl's set-up, the runner would have been safe despite the interference, so, in accordance with the FED rules, we simply return him to first.

GarthB

__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2000, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 476
Send a message via ICQ to SamNVa Send a message via AIM to SamNVa Send a message via Yahoo to SamNVa
Thanks Garth. I guess it's time to start boning up on the FED rules again.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2000, 02:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Quote:
Originally posted by SamNVa
Thanks Garth. I guess it's time to start boning up on the FED rules again.
Sam: But what if Garth (shudder!) is wrong?
__________________
Papa C
My website
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1