The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 19, 2016, 11:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
The correct ruling on this play is illegal attack. The issue with this being the correct call is that the call makes it appear as if the attacking player did something illegal (back row player in front of 10 foot line, ect), when in fact the mistake was made by the libero who set the ball.

What we have been instructed to do is signal the back row attack, then point to the libero as an indication that the fault was her setting location, rather than the actions of the attacking player.

I have made this call three times in my career, and the first time resulted in the coach being red carded for arguing (and dropping an F-bomb) about the attacking player not being a back row player and not listening to the R2 who clearly stated the set was from the libero who was at the net when she set the ball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting AP Arrow Raida357 Basketball 8 Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:36am
setting the arrow oc Basketball 10 Tue Jun 05, 2007 06:54pm
Setting the chains Stripe Football 10 Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:25pm
Setting ball down bellnier Basketball 27 Thu Aug 17, 2006 04:55pm
setting the arrow joec Basketball 4 Thu Nov 30, 2000 12:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1