The correct ruling on this play is illegal attack. The issue with this being the correct call is that the call makes it appear as if the attacking player did something illegal (back row player in front of 10 foot line, ect), when in fact the mistake was made by the libero who set the ball.
What we have been instructed to do is signal the back row attack, then point to the libero as an indication that the fault was her setting location, rather than the actions of the attacking player.
I have made this call three times in my career, and the first time resulted in the coach being red carded for arguing (and dropping an F-bomb) about the attacking player not being a back row player and not listening to the R2 who clearly stated the set was from the libero who was at the net when she set the ball.
|