![]() |
|
|
|||
"Hit" in the rules refers to contacts, not necessarily attacks. This would be an illegal attack since the hit (the contact itself) was executed legally.
__________________
Felix A. Madera USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee FIVB Qualified International Scorer PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee |
|
|||
The correct ruling on this play is illegal attack. The issue with this being the correct call is that the call makes it appear as if the attacking player did something illegal (back row player in front of 10 foot line, ect), when in fact the mistake was made by the libero who set the ball.
What we have been instructed to do is signal the back row attack, then point to the libero as an indication that the fault was her setting location, rather than the actions of the attacking player. I have made this call three times in my career, and the first time resulted in the coach being red carded for arguing (and dropping an F-bomb) about the attacking player not being a back row player and not listening to the R2 who clearly stated the set was from the libero who was at the net when she set the ball. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Felix A. Madera USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee FIVB Qualified International Scorer PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Setting AP Arrow | Raida357 | Basketball | 8 | Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:36am |
setting the arrow | oc | Basketball | 10 | Tue Jun 05, 2007 06:54pm |
Setting the chains | Stripe | Football | 10 | Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:25pm |
Setting ball down | bellnier | Basketball | 27 | Thu Aug 17, 2006 04:55pm |
setting the arrow | joec | Basketball | 4 | Thu Nov 30, 2000 12:15pm |