The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 14, 2015, 09:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Terminology is important.

BR (in all of those rules you quote) means Batter-Runner. Period.

In the original play you posted, you don't have a batter-runner. You have a runner. None of the parts of the rule that mention a BR are relevant to a runner.

Looked at that way, the rule is clear, and is in the right place in the rulebook.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 14, 2015, 09:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,386
I'll agree that it belongs in Section 8.

It does NOT belong in the section about when a BR is out.

We'll just have to agree to disagree on that point.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 14, 2015, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
I'll agree that it belongs in Section 8.

It does NOT belong in the section about when a BR is out.

We'll just have to agree to disagree on that point.
Why do you think it doesn't belong in the section about when a BR is out...

BR is the only one that can be out for touching the wrong half of the base. It cannot be in the section about when a RUNNER is out because a runner cannot be called out for touching the wrong half of the base (which, incidentally, is how you explain it to the coach, and when he trots out rule 8.2 and you point out to him that ENTIRE SECTION is about the batter-runner, and the player he's complaining about is a runner... the discussion is over).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 14, 2015, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Why do you think it doesn't belong in the section about when a BR is out...

BR is the only one that can be out for touching the wrong half of the base. It cannot be in the section about when a RUNNER is out because a runner cannot be called out for touching the wrong half of the base (which, incidentally, is how you explain it to the coach, and when he trots out rule 8.2 and you point out to him that ENTIRE SECTION is about the batter-runner, and the player he's complaining about is a runner... the discussion is over).
What about the red part of the OP?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 14, 2015, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Why do you think it doesn't belong in the section about when a BR is out...

BR is the only one that can be out for touching the wrong half of the base. It cannot be in the section about when a RUNNER is out because a runner cannot be called out for touching the wrong half of the base (which, incidentally, is how you explain it to the coach, and when he trots out rule 8.2 and you point out to him that ENTIRE SECTION is about the batter-runner, and the player he's complaining about is a runner... the discussion is over).


It doesn't belong in the section because it doesn't follow the protocol for when a BR would be out. The first 2 sub-bullets are describing when a batted ball is fair or foul. What does THAT have to do with when a BR is out?

The issue was not about a runner touching whatever base, it was about the defense allegedly using the wrong base.

It doesn't belong because when tagging up on a fly ball, the runner can use either portion of the bag.

It doesn't belong because on an attempted pickoff the RUNNER may return to the white or colored portion of the base. What does THAT have to do with when a BR is out?

So it shouldn't be in the section about when the BR is out; it shouldn't be in the section about when the runner is out; it shouldn't be in the section about when the runner is not out.

It's a mish-mash of fair/foul, BR requirements and exceptions, and runner and defender allowances.

It belongs by itself as a stand alone entity somewhere in Rule 8.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 14, 2015, 11:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
I guess I would agree with you both a bit... the sections in red are not necessary AT ALL. I'm sure someone somewhere decided it needed to be clarified that a section of the book dedicated to when a BR is out doesn't apply to a runner. Whoever had that inserted was wrong. I would not have that part (tagging up ... or the pick off part either) in the book at all - but if it has to be there, you're right that it belongs elsewhere.

I would also agree that the heading part (M, before the subheadings) is worded very poorly if it's meant to follow the heading part of 8.2.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 14, 2015, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Recall that several years ago, the "orange" base essentially disappeared (became part of foul ground) once the BR reached 1B.

When ASA decided to change the double base rule to make it one big base once the BR has reached 1B, the editors of the book got things a bit muddled.

But, the only time orange/white makes any difference is when a play is being made on the BR at 1B.

Otherwise, it is just one big base.

Can this be proven in the book? Maybe not, but it is the interpretation.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 14, 2015, 05:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
The proper way to deal with a double base is to use the NCAA method.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
double base greymule Softball 3 Thu Jun 22, 2006 02:59pm
Double Base mach3 Softball 6 Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:16pm
Double Base bluejay Softball 23 Thu Oct 16, 2003 06:19pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm
Double base ? oppool Softball 22 Thu Aug 09, 2001 05:25pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1