The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 13, 2015, 12:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
As an aside, she is also an official who I have worked with in volleyball many times.
Mods delete this post: beer + forum != "should post".
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."

Last edited by teebob21; Mon Jul 13, 2015 at 12:08am. Reason: comment redacted
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 13, 2015, 09:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
The proper base award mechanics...

All right folks, once and for all for my edification...

R1 on 1B, off on the pitch, liner caught by F6, airmails the throw over F3's head.

Proper mechanics when the ball enters DBT?
I've usually said "Dead ball! Runner gets 3rd!"

At the time I'm stating this, sometimes R1 is still returning to 1B.
Is my wording correct? Is the timing of this information important, or completely irrelevant?

Regarding the runner, I know she's responsible for knowing her baselining duties, but could the wrong wording be considered misleading?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 13, 2015, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
All right folks, once and for all for my edification...

R1 on 1B, off on the pitch, liner caught by F6, airmails the throw over F3's head.

Proper mechanics when the ball enters DBT?
I've usually said "Dead ball! Runner gets 3rd!"

At the time I'm stating this, sometimes R1 is still returning to 1B.
Is my wording correct? Is the timing of this information important, or completely irrelevant?

Regarding the runner, I know she's responsible for knowing her baselining duties, but could the wrong wording be considered misleading?
Various verbs are ok (get, goes to, awarded, etc.)

Base running duties and direction of the runner don't matter; only the position of the runner at TOT (in OP, when F6 chooses air mail).
The important thing is call Dead ball!; then think a bit before announcing the award.
I usually repeat it to be sure all heard and use the time.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 13, 2015, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Thanks Cecil,

Wasn't thinking in terms of getting the award right in my own mind, more about wording and timing the award properly so as not to deceive (?) or confuse the runner about what she should do.

Of course, it's the runner's (& coach's) job to do the right thing...

I'm still waiting for my first RS 38 (exception) ruling. It's almost happened a couple times.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 13, 2015, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
If I know that the runner still has some baserunning correction to make during the dead ball, instead of saying something like, "Runner gets third base", I'll just announce the base award by holding up two fingers and announcing, "Two bases".

Then it's up to the runner to go back and retouch before completing the award and they can't say I directed them to do anything differently. If the runner gets confused about which base to go to, wait until they touch the first base of their award before helping them out. Once they touch the first base of the award, they can't go back and retouch anyway, so if you tell them to "go to third" at that point you aren't depriving them of any chance to correct their baserunning mistake.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 13, 2015, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Seems like the perfect way to handle it. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 13, 2015, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
Once they touch the first base of the award, they can't go back and retouch anyway, so if you tell them to "go to third" at that point you aren't depriving them of any chance to correct their baserunning mistake.
Defined by the time you make the award or the time it's earned? E.g., if she touches second a half step after the ball goes out of play and then starts back for first and then you announce she's got third, is she able to fix her base-running mistake?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 14, 2015, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Defined by the time you make the award or the time it's earned? E.g., if she touches second a half step after the ball goes out of play and then starts back for first and then you announce she's got third, is she able to fix her base-running mistake?
If this runner was in between first and second base when the throw was made, what is the first base of her two-base award? Second.

If she touched second base after the ball went out of play, has she touched the the first base of her award after the ball became dead? Yes.

At that point the rule says she can't go back and correct her baserunning mistake.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 13, 2015, 08:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
All right folks, once and for all for my edification...

R1 on 1B, off on the pitch, liner caught by F6, airmails the throw over F3's head.

Proper mechanics when the ball enters DBT?
Signal and call "DEAD BALL".

Watch all active runners and remain silent until you are satisfied the runners have completed whatever advance/retreat they intend to make. Then announce the award.

Always wait to announce the award as to not put a runner in jeopardy.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw in BC? Terrapins Fan Basketball 26 Wed Mar 05, 2014 11:35pm
Fumble on throw in and free throw billyu2 Basketball 9 Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:33pm
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1