The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 17, 2015, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
OBS effect

R1 on 2nd. B2/R2 obstructed between 1st & 2nd, then tagged out at 2nd.
Dead ball, award R2 1st or 2nd as judged if non-OBS.

Tag occurred with R1 between 3rd & home.
ASA says award bases to all runners, NFHS says affected runners.
Could R1 be awarded home
if ITUJ, R1 would have been reached w/o the dead ball at 2nd?
ASA answer:
NFHS answer:
Does the ASA rule really mean only "affected", i.e. trailing runners? If so, citation please.

Another variation will follow later.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 17, 2015, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
R1 on 2nd. B2/R2 obstructed between 1st & 2nd, then tagged out at 2nd.
Dead ball, award R2 1st or 2nd as judged if non-OBS.

Tag occurred with R1 between 3rd & home.
ASA says award bases to all runners, NFHS says affected runners.
Could R1 be awarded home
if ITUJ, R1 would have been reached w/o the dead ball at 2nd?
ASA answer:
NFHS answer:
Does the ASA rule really mean only "affected", i.e. trailing runners? If so, citation please.

Another variation will follow later.
Either ruleset. She was affected because she was between bases when the ball was called dead. Give her the base she would have reached.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 17, 2015, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
That's what I'm thinking. If you judge that the lead runner would have scored, then she was "affected" in that her advance was stopped when the ball become dead due to a rule violation by the defense.

If you judge that she wouldn't have scored, then put her back on third. I would tend to give every benefit of the doubt to the runner here.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 17, 2015, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 20
Depends on which base you protect her to. PG 65 Penalty: (3b), a. says "If the obstructed runner is put out prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there been no obstruction, a dead ball is called..." If you don't think she would have reached 2B, then I feel it's a delayed call until all playing action is completed. You would then put runner back at 1B. If you judge 2B to be the correct placement of the runner, then you would be correct.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 17, 2015, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sapper33 View Post
Depends on which base you protect her to. PG 65 Penalty: (3b), a. says "If the obstructed runner is put out prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there been no obstruction, a dead ball is called..." If you don't think she would have reached 2B, then I feel it's a delayed call until all playing action is completed. You would then put runner back at 1B. If you judge 2B to be the correct placement of the runner, then you would be correct.
The standard obstruction mechanic is anytime an obstructed is put out prior to reaching the base they would have reached, or between the two bases where they were obstructed then you call a dead ball and award the obstructed runner and all other runners affected by the obstruction the base(s) they would have reached had there been no obstruction. So reguardless of 1B or 2B award in your case you kill it when the runner is put out, and award the base(s) to the runners in your judgement they would have reached.

So in the original question I agree you have to judge where R1 would have been if you wouldn't have had to call a dead ball due to the obstruction and then you award them that base, in both codes.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 17, 2015, 06:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
I disagree. I don't believe the runner was affected by the OBS. The runner was affected by the OBS runner being retired. Being OBS is not always the cause of that runner being put out.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the Effect? Umpteenth Softball 6 Fri Jun 12, 2009 01:44pm
When Did This Rule Go Into Effect Ed Hickland Football 51 Mon Mar 16, 2009 02:38pm
NCAA BOO effect CecilOne Softball 10 Tue Mar 07, 2006 09:35am
Force Still In Effect? chuckfan1 Baseball 17 Thu Nov 10, 2005 06:54pm
Did It effect the Play? PeteBooth Baseball 10 Thu Feb 15, 2001 05:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1