The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 10, 2009, 11:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 117
What is the Effect?

ASA Rule 7-3-A: Prior to the pitch, the batter must have both feet completely within the lines of the batter's box. The batter may touch the lines, but no part of the foot may be outside the lines prior to the pitch.

I saw this with two batters last night, each time they came to bat. Half of both feet were outside the box. This is my weekly night to read the rule book, and I just read the rule listed above. I don't see an effect listed for this. So, here's my call: I request the batter to step completely in the box. I will assume the batter cooperates and play continues.

What if the next time the batter comes to the plate he assumes his original stance?

I know and understand 7-6-D & E, concerning the batter's foot outside the box (or touching home plate) at the time the ball makes contact, but that is a different sitch than this.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When Did This Rule Go Into Effect Ed Hickland Football 51 Mon Mar 16, 2009 02:38pm
ASA Rule 8-5-H EFFECT Example Welpe Softball 7 Thu Jun 19, 2008 07:23pm
NCAA BOO effect CecilOne Softball 10 Tue Mar 07, 2006 09:35am
Force Still In Effect? chuckfan1 Baseball 17 Thu Nov 10, 2005 06:54pm
Did It effect the Play? PeteBooth Baseball 10 Thu Feb 15, 2001 05:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1