![]() |
|
|
|||
Lineup Mgt
NCAA 8.5.1.2-Projected substitutions and re-entries are not allowed.
At the start of the inning, OC tells me she will be putting subs in for her 2nd and 3rd batters. I can accept these changes immediately, but I should advise OC that, at this point, they are official subs, and if she changes her mind, it'll be a re-entry (if the original players were starters). This is not considered a projected sub, correct? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Big argument on another board. I believe the final general consensus was you cannot accept offensive substitutions until they are actually coming up to bat or entering for another runner. My understanding was this was also a big topic of discussion at asa uic national clinic and they came to same determination.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Maybe someone who was at that clinic will explain the irrationality. A projected substitution is one that can not happen right then, like a re-entry later, or a pinch hitter for a player still on defense.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
This is the ruling for NCAA posted on the forum I was talking about. Based on this, the umpire cannot take any offensive substitutions other than the player immediately coming to bat.
Here's the NCAA ruling: "Prior to the start of a half inning, the offensive coach reports two line-up changes to the plate umpire- the leadoff batter in the inning will now be #11 for #1 and the on-deck batter will be #12 for #2. RULING: The umpire should accept the reported change for the batter but the projected substitution for the on-deck batter is not allowed until #11 completes her turn at bat. Because any offensive player may occupy the on-deck circle, it is not considered a position in the line-up for which substitutions are accepted. That is to say, to be able to be reported, a substitute must immediately enter the game on offense or in a defensive position." |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
Looks like I may need to change how I've been doing that.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." Last edited by teebob21; Fri Mar 20, 2015 at 03:25pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() ![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
It has never been acceptable to take projected changes. When someone tries, the immediate and consistent response is, "Coach, not now, tell me when the change actually occurs". Only once did a coach ever insist and then got pissed because of all his BS, one of his players lost the ability to re-enter. Some believe refusing projected changes is anal, but AFAIC, it is preventive umpiring that protects all parties involved.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
I cannot think of any valid reason to make a coach who intends two or more subs, now, to not accept those changes, now. The subs are now in the game, not projected (some time in the future), whether they run now, come to bat now, or later. You mark them all now, you report them all now; they are in the lineup now. A different example; suppose coach subs S1 to run for the #26, the starting DP on base. At the end of the inning, coach reports to re-enter #26, so he/she doesn't forget to do that when #26 comes back up to bat later. Is anyone saying you cannot accept that re-entry? You are going to make the coach wait until that position comes back up the next time? Is it (should it be??) different if the DP is playing defense at that point?? That isn't projected, #26 is back in the lineup, whether she plays defense now or not. Projected, as the rule is intended, is to stop the coach from saying S1 is running for #26, and I will re-enter #26 at the end of the inning. THAT is projected, (and it doesn't answer what is intended if they bat around completely and that position comes back up that inning) and "Coach, be sure you tell me that when that happens, because I cannot accept it now." I accept, and have always accepted, multiple changes at one time. It is the coach's responsibility to know and understand that the change is effective when the rule says it is (accepted versus reported), not for me to refuse to accept a legal lineup change because that position isn't up to bat.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Lineup Management | tcblue13 | Softball | 9 | Tue May 12, 2009 10:17am |
Lineup Question | MOofficial | Softball | 15 | Tue Sep 23, 2008 11:24am |
Illegal Lineup? | gymwhite | Volleyball | 11 | Tue Oct 16, 2007 04:41pm |
LineUp Situation | BearBoy | Volleyball | 5 | Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:25am |
Lineup with a DH | tarheelcoach | Baseball | 17 | Mon Mar 07, 2005 12:45am |