![]() |
|
|
|||
Ball hits bat or bat hits ball
Batter bunts ball straight down, ball comes straight up. Batter drops the bat and the ball and bat meet in the air in fair territory ? The BR is in the batters box. What is the call (all codes) ?
Last edited by xtremeump; Mon Aug 04, 2014 at 07:38pm. Reason: Spelling |
|
|||
If the bat is still in the batter's hands and batter in box, then dead ball foul.
I have an out in your sitch.
__________________
Tony Last edited by tcannizzo; Fri Jul 25, 2014 at 06:30pm. |
|
|||
Right, so in this case you have the bat hitting the ball, assuming over fair territory, and an out.
__________________
Tony |
|
|||
The only person that saw the bat out of the hands was the PU. I agree with you, it is not an every game play, we have the ones that are clear to everyone on the ground. This one bothers me because it is a little different did the ball hit the bat? Or did the bat hit the ball ?
|
|
|||
Quote:
However, never guess an out.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
This is one of those situations that the batter really doesn't do anything to "deserve" to be called out, but the batter is a victim of "bad luck". It's no different than a batter hitting an absolute screamer right back at the pitcher and the pitcher simply puts the glove up to protect themselves and the ball sticks in the glove for a catch. The batter in that case did not do anything wrong, they were a victim of bad luck (from their POV). Sometimes luck, good or bad, plays a part in the game of softball. Also sports have calls that have to be made not based on the intent of a player, but the luck of play. A bounce might go one way for one team and another way for another team. Them's the brakes. |
|
|||
Was working a Division 3 college game this spring. I was on the bases. Runners at first and second. Batter bunts, throws the bat down, which hits the ball. Plate umpire calls dead ball.
Then I see the WTF look in his eyes. He has no idea what to do. I stroll in and ask him what he has. He says dead ball. I say I know that but was the ball fair or foul when the bat hit it. He says fair. I say we have an out and the runners need to return to their original bases. He agrees and makes the call. Head coach wants to know who made the call as she comes right at me. I said he did when he called dead ball. I said I came in to make sure we got the right call and that the runners were put in the correct position. She was good with that and the rest of the doubleheader was great. |
|
|||
Quote:
In the A.R. for 11.14.1 SECOND CONTACT which describes a similar play (bat and ball making contact in the air); the last sentence reads…"If in doubt, penalize the batter as she originally controlled the bat before dropping it." Last edited by KJUmp; Mon Sep 29, 2014 at 10:11pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Ball hits Bat | argodad | Softball | 8 | Mon Oct 11, 2010 02:46pm |
Bat Hits Ball in Box | Armadillo_Blue | Baseball | 8 | Wed May 23, 2007 09:05am |
Ball hits the ref | Vinski | Basketball | 18 | Thu Feb 15, 2007 12:23pm |
ball hits top of bb in or out | StevenW | Basketball | 4 | Wed Aug 06, 2003 11:40am |
batter hits ball after hits ground | kfinucan | Softball | 13 | Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm |