The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 21, 2014, 09:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Maryland (northeast of Baltimore)
Posts: 371
Obstruction on last play of inning

This happened today and I wondered what the mechanics would be if it was twisted slightly. Utrip tourney but I don't think it makes a difference. R1 on 2nd. R2 on 1st. 2 outs. B1 hits a gapper. As R1 rounds third she is obstructed by F5 (I signal) and she continues toward home. Then R2 to tries to stretch her advance to 3rd. She is thrown out for the 3rd out of the inning, but plate ump says runner just crossed the plate before the out, run counts. All is hunky dory.

But what if R1 didn't score before the 3rd out? She was obstructed. Simply announce the obstruction, award home, and count the out at third as the third out of the inning?

This is probably straightforward, but just wondering.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 22, 2014, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Little Jimmy View Post
This happened today and I wondered what the mechanics would be if it was twisted slightly. Utrip tourney but I don't think it makes a difference. R1 on 2nd. R2 on 1st. 2 outs. B1 hits a gapper. As R1 rounds third she is obstructed by F5 (I signal) and she continues toward home. Then R2 to tries to stretch her advance to 3rd. She is thrown out for the 3rd out of the inning, but plate ump says runner just crossed the plate before the out, run counts. All is hunky dory.

But what if R1 didn't score before the 3rd out? She was obstructed. Simply announce the obstruction, award home, and count the out at third as the third out of the inning?

This is probably straightforward, but just wondering.
I think you are saying that ITUJ R1 did not reach home in time because of the OBS. Then, probably what you said.
Otherwise, the OBS means nothing.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 22, 2014, 09:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
I think you are saying that ITUJ R1 did not reach home in time because of the OBS. Then, probably what you said.
Otherwise, the OBS means nothing.
I agree with you and would call it that way. I think if I called it this way (have never seen it happen), I'd be backed up around here. But is this at all justifiable given the rules?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 22, 2014, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Little Jimmy View Post
This happened today and I wondered what the mechanics would be if it was twisted slightly. Utrip tourney but I don't think it makes a difference. R1 on 2nd. R2 on 1st. 2 outs. B1 hits a gapper. As R1 rounds third she is obstructed by F5 (I signal) and she continues toward home. Then R2 to tries to stretch her advance to 3rd. She is thrown out for the 3rd out of the inning, but plate ump says runner just crossed the plate before the out, run counts. All is hunky dory.

But what if R1 didn't score before the 3rd out? She was obstructed. Simply announce the obstruction, award home, and count the out at third as the third out of the inning?

This is probably straightforward, but just wondering.
Speaking what I believe would be in most assn., the idea of an OBS call is to negate the impediment of the runner. If in your judgment, the OBS prevented the runner from reaching the plate safely prior to the execution of the 3rd out, the run should be allowed to score.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double play to end inning (one tag, one force) bunter82 Baseball 18 Sun Jul 17, 2011 04:54pm
Seven Obstruction on one play. BuggBob Softball 7 Thu Jul 01, 2010 06:15pm
Another Obstruction play... Andy Softball 56 Sat Jul 15, 2006 06:37pm
OBR Obstruction: B becomes A - Play mikebran Baseball 10 Sat Mar 19, 2005 03:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1