The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 05, 2014, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
I don't see why we couldn't use the guidance in FED case play 8.1.1.B, where the umpire announces forcefully, "BATTER'S OUT!" when she can't run to first on the U3K. That's what I've done in the past. I simply say out loud, "THAT'S BALL 3!" or "THAT'S STRIKE 2!" when the batter takes off and her at-bat isn't completed.
The only downside to that approach is if you have lost the count, and deprive the (now) batter-runner of the opportunity to advance on the dropped third strike, and equally deprive the defense of the opportunity to make the out. You would be forced to award first base, because you killed it before the defense completed the out.

And if actually Ball 4, you can be sure the OC will tell you they had a play on that you stopped them from running.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 05, 2014, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Well, got an official interpretation of the rule, but now my daughter who is actually the coach is so fed up she doesnt want to pursue the protest. She has given all the information to her principal and letting him deal with it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 05, 2014, 03:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: In the Desert....
Posts: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Well, got an official interpretation of the rule, but now my daughter who is actually the coach is so fed up she doesnt want to pursue the protest. She has given all the information to her principal and letting him deal with it.
I am sure the ruling was what you and others thought.........
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 05, 2014, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Yes sir. No interference, run should have scored and batter returned to bat.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 05, 2014, 07:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
I can solve this issue. Drop the rule. It wasn't always part of the game, so maybe everyone would be better off without it.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 05, 2014, 07:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
If that was the rule I would be fine with it. The problem is one particular person that keeps getting assigned to our games even after detailing a full page worth of rules he has miss applied or invented in his own mind. Not to mention showing up 15 minutes late for one and 30 minutes late for another.

Last edited by RKBUmp; Mon May 05, 2014 at 07:52pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 06, 2014, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 388
Who is assigning the umpire?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule Clarification PIAA REF Basketball 11 Tue Nov 02, 2010 03:06pm
Rule 2-10 Clarification Burtis449 Basketball 3 Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:34am
Rule Clarification BigToe Basketball 5 Wed Nov 16, 2005 06:21pm
Rule Clarification Dennis Nicely Basketball 5 Mon Feb 19, 2001 01:42pm
Clarification on NFHS Rule Paul LeBoutillier Basketball 1 Wed Nov 15, 2000 12:22pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1