The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2000, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 164
Question

While reading (and RE-reading) the NFHS Rule Book, I came upon 4-3-2 which says:

Alternating-possession control is established and the initial direction of the possession arrow is set toward the opponent's basket when:

Art 2: ...the ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower after a common foul when the bonus free throw is in effect.


One of the keys of this rule appears to be the word "initial." I got to thinking of a time in a game when the initial arrow wouldn't be set, and yet a team could be in the bonus situation. Correct me please, but it seems like this could only happen at the beginning of an Overtime when a common foul occurs before initial possession is established.

Am I right?

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2000, 12:22pm
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 171
Send a message via AIM to Bradley Batt
You got it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1