The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 28, 2014, 07:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
ASA, NFHS, NCAA, ... pick your poison...

OK, for you counting-angels-on-the-head-of-a-pin types:

R1 on 1B. B2 slaps the pitch toward the right side of 2B and F4 fields the ball with her bare hand, runs toward 2B, and dives toward 2B. In the base umpire’s judgment, F4 has control of the ball and is holding the ball securely. F4, with her hand outstretched, and R1 are both converging on 2B at about the same time.

a) F4 dives on 2B and touches it with the ball. As soon as F4 touches 2B with the ball, the ball rolls loose.I have a loss of control on this and thus no out call.
b) F4 dives on 2B and touches it with the ball. As soon as F4 touches 2B with the ball, R1 sliding in, and contacts F4's hand, and the ball rolls loose. I have an out call on this play. The contact with R1 (tag) was not the reason the ball came loose, the subsequent contact with the base after a legal tag on R1 caused the ball to come loose.
c) F4 dives as R1 is sliding into 2B. F4 touches R1's foot with the ball before she reaches 2B. As soon as F4 touches R1 with the ball, F4's hand contacts the base, and the ball rolls loose. The umpire needs to make a decision, even as split second as it is, as to what caused the ball to come loose. The odds of both contacts at the same moment are actually slim. One had to happen before the other, and it is the umpires judgment that determines the call. Since the judgment of an official is not subject to protesting, or arguing. one coach is going to be unhappy no matter what the call is but will have to like with the judgment call of the umpire.
d) F4 dives as R1 is sliding into 2B. F4 touches R1's foot with the ball before she reaches 2B. As soon as F4 touches R1 with the ball, the ball rolls loose. I have a safe call because the player did not maintain control of the ball during the tag.

Rulings? Same, different, why?
Response in red in quoted section.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Collision in the Key iref4him Basketball 10 Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:39pm
Collision at plate - ASA ToledoCYOBlue Softball 6 Mon Jun 27, 2005 12:58pm
F2/R1 collision or is it obs? chas Softball 4 Thu Mar 24, 2005 09:08am
Collision and base tagging Roman Konecny Baseball 8 Tue Nov 16, 2004 04:17pm
Collision at first SF Softball 2 Sun Oct 03, 2004 07:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1