![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
And, Fed's rule book is not completely clear, but as I read it, the BR is awarded 1B, and the other runners advance if forced (and, hence, their base is not an award). The other runners are not in jeopardy while advancing to the next base, but are in jeopardy if they advance beyond, and they are certainly in jeopardy of a missed base appeal should they attempt to advance beyond. Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Passing the plate when forced to advance it is not like passing a base where another one is ahead.
Advance w/o liability means forced to score with not being able to be put out. BUT, that leaves us saying the runner could go straight to the dugout w/o touching home plate.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Say the batter-runner overruns first base on a walk, and misses the base in the process. If the defense appeals her miss by either tagging her or the base before she returns, is she not subject to an Out call? If not, why not? What rule protects her here? And if she is subject to an Out call, why wouldn't the same be true at any other base, including home?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
|
The base on balls is the red-headed stepchild in the family of base awards, since the ball remains live. In other base awards, a live ball appeal is not even a possibility and the umpire must allow the awarded runner to complete her base-running responsibilities before honoring an appeal.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
OK, so instead of a BB w/ bases loaded, the batter is HBP. Now we have a dead ball.
How much does that change this scenario assuming everything else remains the same?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
Runners must be given the opportunity to complete their base running responsibilities before a dead ball appeal can be heard. Therefore, the appeal on R1 cannot be heard until she enters the dugout (and, hence, has no further opportunity to go back and touch home plate).
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
I do understand the logic of both sides of this - and using logic alone, one could support either side of this argument, as TPTB have not defined this perfectly.
However, the interp I typed (and ATL typed) is the one we've been given from our higher ups.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
The OP is fed rules (at least I assume so, since it is a JV game), but clearly a runner missing home plate can be appealed; that is not in question.
__________________
Tom |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Bases loaded walk... | jmkupka | Softball | 32 | Fri May 24, 2013 05:47pm |
| Bases Loaded Walk... | mightymoose_22 | Baseball | 37 | Wed Apr 04, 2007 11:05pm |
| Bases Loaded... | mrm21711 | Baseball | 5 | Mon May 29, 2006 05:09pm |
| Bases loaded appeal results | Leecedar | Softball | 6 | Sun Dec 05, 2004 06:41pm |
| Base on Balls Bases Loaded | For the kids | Softball | 18 | Wed Jun 30, 2004 09:44am |