The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 24, 2014, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lincoln, CA (Near Sacramento)
Posts: 150
Dropped 3rd Strike - Throw to 1st

I know what the rule says about white bag/orange bag..........but............I'm seeing more and more coaches "teaching" catchers and 1st base players that when the ball is dropped the 1st base player automatically sets up in foul territory awaiting the throw and the catcher, knowing this, throws the ball to first in foul territory to get the out.

It's intentional but it's also the ball being caught in foul territory because that's where the throw was. I've never seen anyone call the runner safe because the first base player didn't tag the white bag.

I'm think'n this ain't legit....it's not an errant throw. What you guys do?
__________________
Wish I'da umped before I played. What a difference it would'a made!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 24, 2014, 11:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Well, apparently you don't know what the rule says about the white/orange bag...because if you did, you'd know that this is a legal play!

Though I will to say that it might be dependent on what rule set you're using. For ASA and high school, their rules specifically say that if the throw is coming from foul ground that the fielder may set up on the colored base to receive the throw.

Other organizations may not clearly state this in their rules.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 24, 2014, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linknblue View Post
I know what the rule says about white bag/orange bag..........but............I'm seeing more and more coaches "teaching" catchers and 1st base players that when the ball is dropped the 1st base player automatically sets up in foul territory awaiting the throw and the catcher, knowing this, throws the ball to first in foul territory to get the out.

It's intentional but it's also the ball being caught in foul territory because that's where the throw was. I've never seen anyone call the runner safe because the first base player didn't tag the white bag.

I'm think'n this ain't legit....it's not an errant throw. What you guys do?
Legal, all rule sets (both softball and baseball).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 24, 2014, 12:03pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Legal, all rule sets (both softball and baseball).
They use orange bags in baseball??
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 24, 2014, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
While is isn't necessarily "illegal", how can you be sure without knowing from where the throw was coming?

Maybe I'm missing something, but the use of the orange bag is only for throws coming from foul territory on the 1B side of the field. I don't see any indication of that in the OP
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 24, 2014, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
While is isn't necessarily "illegal", how can you be sure without knowing from where the throw was coming?

Maybe I'm missing something, but the use of the orange bag is only for throws coming from foul territory on the 1B side of the field. I don't see any indication of that in the OP
... as well as errant throws from elsewhere, correct? A bad throw from F6 that pulls F3 to the orange side is legal...

Based on past threads, seems to me the only time F3 can't use orange is if she sets up there before the throw is released from any fielder other than F2.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 24, 2014, 01:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to charliej47 Send a message via MSN to charliej47 Send a message via Yahoo to charliej47
The best I can remember is that if the throw pulls F3 to the foul side, then F3 can touch the orange for the out no matter who throws the ball.
__________________
Charles Johnson Jr
NFHS Class #1 softball/baseball
ASA/USSSA
Dayton, Ohio

I have been umpiring so long that it was called Rounders when I started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dropped third strike Spence Baseball 25 Fri May 20, 2011 07:35pm
Swinging Strike + Hit Batter + Dropped 3rd Strike bfoster Baseball 19 Sun May 17, 2009 08:30pm
Dropped Third Strike mckinnishk Baseball 3 Sat Jul 31, 2004 09:22am
Dropped third strike ref5678 Baseball 6 Wed Jul 17, 2002 09:19pm
Dropped 3rd strike Robert G Baseball 4 Wed May 16, 2001 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1