The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 24, 2014, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
The problem I have with the rules is that the BR may not know where the loose ball went. If she sees F3 set up on the orange side on an uncaught third strike, and she beats the throw and touches only the white bag, is she susceptible to an appeal for missing first if the throw came from the third-base side of foul territory? Or would you rule obstruction on F3, even if she is well into foul territory (her foot is touching the side of the bag furthest into foul, giving the BR a straight path at the bag)?
8-2-M-4:
On any force out attempt from the foul side of first base, the defense and the batter-runner may use either the white or colored portion of the base.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 24, 2014, 02:14pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
8-2-M-4:
On any force out attempt from the foul side of first base, the defense and the batter-runner may use either the white or colored portion of the base.
That means the throw is originating from the right side of the catcher in foul territory, such as near the on-deck circle next to the first base dugout.

What if the throw is coming from the opposite on-deck circle?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 24, 2014, 02:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
I see what you're getting at, Manny. I know this has been discussed before, but I don't remember what the consensus was.

The rules say that the batter-runner may use the white base in cases where the defense is legitimately using the colored base, using one of the exceptions to the rule.

But they don't specifically say what happens when the defense is using the colored base in conflict with the rules and that forces the batter-runner to switch over to the white.

It seems like obstruction must come into play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 30, 2014, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lincoln, CA (Near Sacramento)
Posts: 150
Just so we're clear...........I was talking about a dropped 3rd strike that was in front of the catcher behind the plate. BR heads to first, 1st baseman chooses to sets up on orange bag cuz runner is running inside baseline to first I suppose (or was taught this on dropped 3rd strike), catcher picks ball up in front of her behind plate and then throws to first in foul territory.........choice was to do it this way by defense, no errant throws. I suppose you could say ball was in foul territory when catcher moved to foul territory by choice to make throw.

All I'm asking is that.........Is this a play that falls under the white/orange errant throw even if it's intentional?
__________________
Wish I'da umped before I played. What a difference it would'a made!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 30, 2014, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linknblue View Post
Just so we're clear...........I was talking about a dropped 3rd strike that was in front of the catcher behind the plate. BR heads to first, 1st baseman chooses to sets up on orange bag cuz runner is running inside baseline to first I suppose (or was taught this on dropped 3rd strike), catcher picks ball up in front of her behind plate and then throws to first in foul territory.........choice was to do it this way by defense, no errant throws. I suppose you could say ball was in foul territory when catcher moved to foul territory by choice to make throw.

All I'm asking is that.........Is this a play that falls under the white/orange errant throw even if it's intentional?
It does not have to be an errant throw if the throw is from foul ground on the 1st base side of the field. That is, between the 1st base line and it extension and the dead ball line.

I don't recall the rules saying anything about the fielder setting up; just what part or parts of the base the fielder and runner can use.
8-2-M-4:
On any force out attempt from the foul side of first base, the defense and the batter-runner may use either the white or colored portion of the base.

8-2-M-4:
On any force out attempt from the foul side of first base, the defense and the batter-runner may use either the white or colored portion of the base.

Yes, Yes, not technically a "force out"; but the wording is such to distinguish BR going to 1st from other situations.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 30, 2014, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
If the ball is behind the plate it is in foul territory and the throw would be coming from foul territory. Perfectly legal for the defense to setup in foul and take the throw on the colored portion of the base.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 30, 2014, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
If the ball is behind the plate it is in foul territory and the throw would be coming from foul territory. Perfectly legal for the defense to setup in foul and take the throw on the colored portion of the base.
from foul ground on the 1st base side of the field.
That is, between the 1st base line and it extension and the dead ball line. ??????????????????
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.

Last edited by CecilOne; Sun Mar 30, 2014 at 01:00pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 30, 2014, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
If the ball is directly behind the plate it is on the foul side if 1st base line.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dropped third strike Spence Baseball 25 Fri May 20, 2011 07:35pm
Swinging Strike + Hit Batter + Dropped 3rd Strike bfoster Baseball 19 Sun May 17, 2009 08:30pm
Dropped Third Strike mckinnishk Baseball 3 Sat Jul 31, 2004 09:22am
Dropped third strike ref5678 Baseball 6 Wed Jul 17, 2002 09:19pm
Dropped 3rd strike Robert G Baseball 4 Wed May 16, 2001 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1