The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2014, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 68
Black of the Plate - Strike?

This is specifically an ASA 'slow-pitch' question: Would like to know if there's any rules reference as to whether a ball that exceeds the two corners of the plate and is considered to 'hit' the side (aka black) part of the plate can be considered a 'strike'?

I recall a few years back that this was in fact a rule put in play; however, I cannot locate a reference to this?

Any help is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2014, 11:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,815
By definition, the black part is NOT part of the strike zone, it exists solely to provide a color contrast to better see the edges of the plate. On many fields, the dirt on the sides cover that tapered area.

Also a proven fact that you can test at your convenience, it isn't physically possible for a sphere with the dimensions of a softball to touch the black part of the plate without also touching the white part. Try it, you cannot place the ball in that position due to natural curvature of the sphere. By rule, a ball, cannot be a strike.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2014, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Also a proven fact that you can test at your convenience, it isn't physically possible for a sphere with the dimensions of a softball to touch the black part of the plate without also touching the white part. Try it, you cannot place the ball in that position due to natural curvature of the sphere. By rule, a ball, cannot be a strike.
This is completely false. So false that I can't conceive of why someone I know to be very intelligent (you) would say such a thing.

Put the ball on the plate. Roll it to the left. At some point, the tangent of the ball is the white part of the plate. Roll it any amount more (up to the width of the black) and it's over the black, and not over the white.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2014, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 121
Longhorn, I'm pretty sure the others are talking about physically touching the plate, not being over it. The reference is to slow pitch, where a ball that touches the plate cannot be a strike.
__________________
Patrick
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2014, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by pob14 View Post
Longhorn, I'm pretty sure the others are talking about physically touching the plate, not being over it. The reference is to slow pitch, where a ball that touches the plate cannot be a strike.
AH! OK,that makes complete sense now.

Well I feel a bit red-faced now. Sorry Atl!
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2014, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 68
Thanks for the interpretations of what is 'psychically' capable of touching only the 'black' portion of the plate.

Must have been 'urban legend' or some other POE that I had heard of in the past where the 'black' was considered to be a 'strike' in ASA 'slow-pitch'.

Thanks again for the thoughts !
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2014, 05:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
AH! OK,that makes complete sense now.

Well I feel a bit red-faced now. Sorry Atl!
No biggie, my friend. We all have been known to take a response out of context at some point in time.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2014, 06:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd41flpk View Post
Thanks for the interpretations of what is 'psychically' capable of touching only the 'black' portion of the plate.

Must have been 'urban legend' or some other POE that I had heard of in the past where the 'black' was considered to be a 'strike' in ASA 'slow-pitch'.

Thanks again for the thoughts !
From the 2013 ASA Clinic Guide:

Home Plate:
a) If a pitch crosses over the black portion of the plate, it is assumed the pitch crossed over the white portion.
b) If the catcher is touching the black portion of the plate on a force out, it is considered to be also touching the
white portion.
c) If a runner touches the black portion of the plate, it is considered they also touched the white portion.
d) (Slow Pitch) If the ball touches the black portion of the plate, it is considered to have also touched the white portion.
NOTE: Seniors home plate (Rule 2, Section 3G) is a second home plate placed eight feet from the back tip of home plate on an extended line from first base. If a runner touches the regular home plate they are ruled out.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2014, 07:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd41flpk View Post
Thanks for the interpretations of what is 'psychically' capable of touching only the 'black' portion of the plate.

Must have been 'urban legend' or some other POE that I had heard of in the past where the 'black' was considered to be a 'strike' in ASA 'slow-pitch'.

Thanks again for the thoughts !
And if the game is one step up from T-ball and your league is using a mat, then a pitch that clips the mat or plate (assuming all other legalities) is what you want to see.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swinging Strike + Hit Batter + Dropped 3rd Strike bfoster Baseball 19 Sun May 17, 2009 08:30pm
Review-Just Got My New Plate Coat-Black from Gerry Davis Sports MajorDave Baseball 9 Wed Mar 21, 2007 03:12am
Plate Mechanic on 3rd Strike Foul Ball for Out varefump Softball 4 Mon Feb 14, 2005 11:17am
On the black - Ball or strike?? The Texan Softball 14 Tue Aug 19, 2003 08:29pm
black around plate (cont'd) Tap Softball 5 Mon Jan 13, 2003 06:47pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1