The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 26, 2014, 10:13am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,377
BR Hinders Throw Home

Had a lively discussion in a rules class last night regarding this FED case play:

8.2.5 SITUATION A: With the bases loaded, B4, who bats left-handed, hits a ground ball to F3, who is left-handed. The ball is just inside the foul line. F3 throws to F2, but hits B4, who is on her way to first base. B4 is in fair territory, but has not reached the 30-foot running lane. RULING: There is no violation, unless the batter-runner intentionally interfered with F3's throw.

I brought up the same scenario, but with a different twist: What would be the call if B4 was still in fair territory after reaching the running lane?

The applicable rules are as follows (paraphrasing except where necessary):

FED: 8-2-5 and ASA 8-2E: The BR is out when she runs outside the lane and interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base.

FED 8-2-6: The BR is out when she interferes with a fielder attempting to make an initial play, interferes with a fielder attempting to throw the ball, intentionally interferes with a thrown ball while out of the batter's box, etc.

ASA 8-2F: The BR is out when she interferes a fielder attempting to field a batted ball, a fielder attempting to throw the ball, a thrown ball while out of the batter's box, etc.

FED 8-2-7: The BR is out when she interferes with a play at home plate in an attempt to prevent an obvious out at home plate.

ASA 8-2G: The BR is out when she interferes with a play at home plate in an attempt to prevent an out at home plate.

There were two camps on this. One felt that the same ruling should apply as listed in the case play. The running lane doesn't come into play here since the throw was going to home, not to first. And there is no requirement for the BR to be in her lane except when the throw is going to first. The other camp felt that the BR is still required to move into the lane when running to first, and by not doing so, she may still be called for interference with the play at home under FED 8-2-7 and ASA 8-2G.

Your take?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 26, 2014, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
The running lane applies only to throws to 1st base and interfering with the defenses ability to catch the ball at 1st.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 26, 2014, 10:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
No interference for simply running to first base choosing any base path, unless she "does something" to interfere.

Quote:

FED 8-2-7: The BR is out when she interferes with a play at home plate in an attempt to prevent an obvious out at home plate.

ASA 8-2G: The BR is out when she interferes with a play at home plate in an attempt to prevent an out at home plate.
Neither of these would apply since she is not interfering with anything at the plate.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 26, 2014, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 372
manny, just to give you another twist, what if F3 steps on first base to retire the BR, and then BR contacts the thrown ball going home. what you got?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 26, 2014, 11:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Running lane has no bearing on anything here.

The question is going to come down to "what did the BR do to interfere with the play"

I don't see anything offered to rule INT in any of the scenarios offered.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 27, 2014, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
The running lane is irrelevant - the play is identical to the case play. No INT.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 27, 2014, 10:31am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by shagpal View Post
manny, just to give you another twist, what if F3 steps on first base to retire the BR, and then BR contacts the thrown ball going home. what you got?
No different than when R1 is heading for second on a ground ball, is retired on the front end of the double play, and F4/F6 pivots to throw to first and hits the retired R1 who is still somewhere between the two bases. Unless R1 did something to interfere, in the umpire's judgment, it is nothing.

So when you say "BR contacts the thrown ball", that implies she did something to interfere. If you had said "the thrown ball hits the BR", it would likely be nothing.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
Positioning on throw home prosec34 Baseball 17 Tue Jul 03, 2007 01:59am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
"C" mechanics on a throw home from OF WestMichBlue Softball 6 Fri Jul 02, 2004 11:36am
OBR 709(a) Dropped third strike, hinders catcher? LionsCoach Baseball 9 Mon Jun 16, 2003 07:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1