The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 22, 2013, 04:05pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Run scores?

Daily trivia (ASA): Bases loaded, 2 outs. The batter is walked, and she advances to 1st. The runner from 1st touches 2nd but oversteps the base, and a quick throw from the infield catches her for the 3rd out. She was tagged before the runner from 3rd touched home. Does the run count?

I know we've hashed this before... I need proof (or I need you to prove I'm wrong ... hopefully not that one though!)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 22, 2013, 04:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Daily trivia (ASA): Bases loaded, 2 outs. The batter is walked, and she advances to 1st. The runner from 1st touches 2nd but oversteps the base, and a quick throw from the infield catches her for the 3rd out. She was tagged before the runner from 3rd touched home. Does the run count?

I know we've hashed this before... I need proof (or I need you to prove I'm wrong ... hopefully not that one though!)
Am I missing something, or how can the run count if "She was tagged before the runner from 3rd touched home"?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 22, 2013, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dacula, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,775
It scores in NFHS and NCAA; it does not score in ASA.

The only "awarded" base is the batter-runner awarded first base; by definition, the other runners are forced, until they are not!! And thus protected while advancing to the next base, but still not "awarded" the next base. If the third out is made before the R1 touches home, no run scores on that timing play.

I do not understand the rationale in NFHS and NCAA, but they both have approved rulings (to the best of my memory of the top of my head) that indicate the run scores, using a theory not defined anywhere that each runner is somehow awarded the next base, even as the third out removes the force that is advancing them.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 22, 2013, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,300
I seem to remember an ASA clarification that on a walk, if the 3rd out was made prior to the runner from 3rd crossing the plate, the run did not count. Will go back and search the clarifications. I cant find it in the case book I have access to.

Cant find it in clarifications either, but Im certain Ive seen a ruling on it somewhere.

Last edited by RKBUmp; Tue Oct 22, 2013 at 04:27pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 22, 2013, 04:37pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Y'all are along the same lines as me. However, in the discussion group where this has come up (the softball.com facebook group), most are going the other way, and the moderator just did as well - hence me bringing it here.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 22, 2013, 05:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,300
They are citing 8-5-A as their basis for ruling the run scores. Sure, the rule says runners are not liable to be put out when forced to advance on the awarded base. It does not protect them if they pass the base they are forced to. Would seem to me it now becomes a timing play.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 22, 2013, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Daily trivia (ASA): Bases loaded, 2 outs. The batter is walked, and she advances to 1st. The runner from 1st touches 2nd but oversteps the base, and a quick throw from the infield catches her for the 3rd out. She was tagged before the runner from 3rd touched home. Does the run count?

I know we've hashed this before... I need proof (or I need you to prove I'm wrong ... hopefully not that one though!)
The interpretation is really simple. The NFHS & NCAA interpretation actually changes long standing rule of the game simply to cover stupidity on the bases.

Runners are not awarded bases on a walk, the batter is. The ball is live. The runner is not protected by any rule to anywhere other than the base to which they are forced. R3 is clearly in jeopardy and was retired prior to R1 scoring. 5.5.B.2 is clear on not scoring the run. Even if you want to us 8.5.A, R3 still doesn't score since R1 being ruled out removes the force which provides for the advancement without jeopardy of being put out. That makes the advance an attempted steal and there is no protection of any type there
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.

Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Tue Oct 22, 2013 at 06:53pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 23, 2013, 06:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
The interpretation is really simple. The NFHS & NCAA interpretation actually changes long standing rule of the game simply to cover stupidity on the bases.

Runners are not awarded bases on a walk, the batter is.
I don't have my book in front of me, but I don't believe that the batter is "awarded" 1st base on a walk. I believe that the rule changed at least 5 years ago, maybe as many as 8 years ago, so that the batter is no longer awarded 1st base. Now, by rule, if the batter entered the dugout (let's say the batter was a pitcher and wanted to get her jacket), she could be declared out.

Maybe someone with a rule book in front of them can post the actual rule.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 23, 2013, 08:43am
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by EsqUmp View Post
I don't have my book in front of me, but I don't believe that the batter is "awarded" 1st base on a walk. I believe that the rule changed at least 5 years ago, maybe as many as 8 years ago, so that the batter is no longer awarded 1st base. Now, by rule, if the batter entered the dugout (let's say the batter was a pitcher and wanted to get her jacket), she could be declared out.

Maybe someone with a rule book in front of them can post the actual rule.
"8-1-C: The batter becomes a batter-runner when four balls have been called by the umpire. The batter-runner is awarded first base."

Pretty straightforward...
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 23, 2013, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
"8-1-C: The batter becomes a batter-runner when four balls have been called by the umpire. The batter-runner is awarded first base."

Pretty straightforward...
Agree, although possibly superseded by things like INT, running lane (NFHS), but what about abandonment during a live ball?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 23, 2013, 05:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Agree, although possibly superseded by things like INT, running lane (NFHS), but what about abandonment during a live ball?
Here's what I was thinking of:

Rule 8-2-D: The BR is out when the BR fails to advance to 1st base and enters the team area after a base on balls.

Even though she is awarded a base, she is still liable to be called out for entering dead ball territory.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Box Scores IRISHMAFIA Softball 7 Wed Jul 31, 2013 11:52am
Who scores?? Huskerblue Baseball 25 Fri May 11, 2007 09:04am
Run Scores? nelson_28602 Baseball 5 Fri Mar 02, 2007 06:52pm
3rd out run scores lizglea Baseball 2 Tue Jul 06, 2004 10:53am
High Scores 5 sport ref Volleyball 1 Thu Oct 30, 2003 01:50pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1