The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 04, 2013, 05:19am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
A variation on this question that came up this weekend.

No runners, 3-1 count on the batter, pitch is swung at and missed, F2 does not catch the ball, batter takes off for first (thinking U3K), F2 retrieves ball and throws to first.

BU kills the play and awards Ball 4 to the batter for F2 failing to return the ball directly to the pitcher. His reasoning was that there was no play at first, so the ball shouldn't have been thrown there.

My thought is that there is no way that I am rewarding that batter that ran when she shouldn't have.

Thoughts?
OOO.

Maybe he should've given the batter a warning for not keeping one foot in the batter's box, too, huh?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 04, 2013, 08:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
The next time I make this call will be the first.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 04, 2013, 08:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
The next time I make this call will be the first.
I have never had to make it and have seen it called exactly twice. Once in club ball at the Louisville tournament in CO and once in a college game in Georgia.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 04, 2013, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
I have never had to make it and have seen it called exactly twice. Once in club ball at the Louisville tournament in CO and once in a college game in Georgia.
That is definitely a problem. NCAA rules don't award a ball when the catcher throws to 1st if the batter runs when not entitled to. 10.16 Exception 6
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 04, 2013, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
That is definitely a problem. NCAA rules don't award a ball when the catcher throws to 1st if the batter runs when not entitled to. 10.16 Exception 6
The original post was in regard to an overthrow of the pitcher into center field. Later a comment was brought up about a ball that was awarded when a runner mistakenly ran to 1st.

My comment was in regard to the call in general when the catcher throws the ball to anyone other than the pitcher. I have never had to make the call and have seen it made twice. Both times it was the correct call.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 04, 2013, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
I, too, have seen it called once or twice. In both cases, the pitch was strike two with no runners on base. The catcher mistakenly thought it was strike 3 for a strike out and proceeded to throw the ball "around the horn".

This would be a proper application of the rule.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 04, 2013, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
I, too, have seen it called once or twice. In both cases, the pitch was strike two with no runners on base. The catcher mistakenly thought it was strike 3 for a strike out and proceeded to throw the ball "around the horn".

This would be a proper application of the rule.
Umpires need to use some common sense here. Unless you are dealing with a Rube Baker, I'm not making that call unless it delays the game.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
On-deck batter and blocked Ball or live Ball? rwest Softball 13 Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:49pm
Batter picking up the ball chitownvet Baseball 20 Sun Jun 28, 2009 08:57am
Batter Hitting Ball while out of Box tibear Baseball 3 Mon May 26, 2008 11:23am
Ball on the batter? Rachel Softball 37 Wed Aug 24, 2005 07:07am
SP (ASA) Ball hitting batter..... dsimp8 Softball 4 Tue Sep 14, 2004 07:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1