The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 241
Interesting play as it was described

NYSSO rules (ASA) Rules, though I'd like to know if there's any difference with other rule sets.

R1 on 2nd, R2 on 1st, 0 out. B3 bunts a soft line drive just over the pitcher toward F6. Pitcher attempts to catch, but it hits her glove and pops in the air where the F6 comes in and makes a shoestring catch.

No call on the catch is made, nor is a call on the ball hitting the ground.

F6 throws to 2nd, and then F4 throws to first. DC yells, "triple play!" R1 advances to 3rd, R2 advances to 2nd. No tag of any runners is made. No call is made at either base.

BU calls time and asks plate ump if F6 caught the ball. They get together and determine that F6 DID catch the ball, but also that, at the time the ball hit the pitcher's glove, both runners were on their base at that moment, but then left the bases as soon as the ball was tipped. They rule B3 out on the catch and the runners are safe at 2nd and third. 1 out.

I wasn't there, but my questions -

WHAT?

At the "instant" it hit the pitcher's glove, you mean to tell me that both umps, or at least one ump, SAW that the runners were touching their bases?

With no call being made, did this not cause some confusion for the defense/offense? Seems like one team made out quite well here.

Seems to me, and I only say this because one of the umpires involved is known for this, that this is a case of being an OOJ.

But maybe I'm wrong.

I know the rule, I am just asking about how the umpires handled this.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire


As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter.

Last edited by LIUmp; Sun Apr 21, 2013 at 09:09am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 09:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
What's NYSSO?

Even if the umpires saw the tip first and then looked and saw the runners on the base it would still mean the runners touched the base after the touch of the ball by F1.

Given it was a legal retouch, the runners legally advanced. Whether or not the ball was caught meant nothing. The defense should have known that it was legal and played it accordingly. They didn't.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Orange County NY
Posts: 698
Send a message via Yahoo to ASA/NYSSOBLUE
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
What's NYSSO?

Even if the umpires saw the tip first and then looked and saw the runners on the base it would still mean the runners touched the base after the touch of the ball by F1.

Given it was a legal retouch, the runners legally advanced. Whether or not the ball was caught meant nothing. The defense should have known that it was legal and played it accordingly. They didn't.
NYSSO - New York State Softball Officials ASA rules - but different mechanics on a lot of things. If you ever read Jay Miner's REFEREE column, you will encounter a lot of them, as he is our Rules/Mechanics Interpreter.
__________________
www.chvbgsoinc.org
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 241
To clarify I heard from 3 people who were there who said there was no way either umpire saw both runners. Runners were off the base hard on pitch, had to hold when it was popped up, and were retreating or frozen on touch and also on catch.
Then, I met up with the BU on this play, who is known for being that type of umpire to show what he knows, and that it's more than everyone else. He mentioned how he SAW both runners on the base "at first touch". I thought "how impressive, I wouldn't have immediately seen both of them on the base 'at first touch', maybe one but not both."

So I pressed him on this. "You saw both runners at the very moment it hit the pitcher's glove?"
"well, I saw the runner at second out of the corner of my eye at the very second it hit the pitcher's glove. I wasn't sure if she caught the ball, so I asked my plate ump. He thinks she caught it; he's almost positive she did. The plate ump didn't know the rule about the "first touch" and he wasn't sure about where either runner was at the moment. So I told him I'll explain it to the coaches."

An example of his "officiating": I was PU, he was BU. Batter hits base hit down right field line, just fair. He hesitated on going out, then changed his mind, turned around and tried to cut in the infield and tripped over the lip of the grass on the infield, just in front of where the F4 was. I was PU and covered him as the throw from right field came into 2nd since he was laying flat on his back. Batter was standing on 2nd with a double as the throw came in. He gets up, out of breath, and says " TIME!!! I have obstruction! The first baseman obstructed the runner rounding first, she will get third!" Another example, he called out and ejected a 12U player for her slide at home, saying her leg was "too straight" to be a legal slide. This happened in the 7th inning of a tie game at Nationals. His pregame speech includes the warning, "captains, tell your batters, I like to call strikes. Come up swinging the bat. Also, if you think I'm rushing you, you're right."

I just found this story to be all too common for him to have....I can go 15 years and not get anything like this.

Something about the whole play didn't sit right. So I figured I'd ask here.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire


As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 04:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by LIUmp View Post
To clarify I heard from 3 people who were there who said there was no way either umpire saw both runners. .
I don't know from an umpire on the field perspective but from a dugout on a 60' field it isn't that hard.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 07:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 763
Quote:
Originally Posted by LIUmp View Post
To clarify I heard from 3 people who were there who said there was no way either umpire saw both runners. Runners were off the base hard on pitch, had to hold when it was popped up, and were retreating or frozen on touch and also on catch.
Then, I met up with the BU on this play, who is known for being that type of umpire to show what he knows, and that it's more than everyone else. He mentioned how he SAW both runners on the base "at first touch". I thought "how impressive, I wouldn't have immediately seen both of them on the base 'at first touch', maybe one but not both."

So I pressed him on this. "You saw both runners at the very moment it hit the pitcher's glove?"
"well, I saw the runner at second out of the corner of my eye at the very second it hit the pitcher's glove. I wasn't sure if she caught the ball, so I asked my plate ump. He thinks she caught it; he's almost positive she did. The plate ump didn't know the rule about the "first touch" and he wasn't sure about where either runner was at the moment. So I told him I'll explain it to the coaches."

An example of his "officiating": I was PU, he was BU. Batter hits base hit down right field line, just fair. He hesitated on going out, then changed his mind, turned around and tried to cut in the infield and tripped over the lip of the grass on the infield, just in front of where the F4 was. I was PU and covered him as the throw from right field came into 2nd since he was laying flat on his back. Batter was standing on 2nd with a double as the throw came in. He gets up, out of breath, and says " TIME!!! I have obstruction! The first baseman obstructed the runner rounding first, she will get third!" Another example, he called out and ejected a 12U player for her slide at home, saying her leg was "too straight" to be a legal slide. This happened in the 7th inning of a tie game at Nationals. His pregame speech includes the warning, "captains, tell your batters, I like to call strikes. Come up swinging the bat. Also, if you think I'm rushing you, you're right."

I just found this story to be all too common for him to have....I can go 15 years and not get anything like this.

Something about the whole play didn't sit right. So I figured I'd ask here.
Do I know this umpire? These actions are seeming a bit too consistent....
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 08:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by EsqUmp View Post
Do I know this umpire? These actions are seeming a bit too consistent....
You do know him. Too well. And I agree it's ludicrous. Especially considering this umpire.

Always happens to him.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire


As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 22, 2013, 05:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by EsqUmp View Post
Do I know this umpire? These actions are seeming a bit too consistent....
Tell me this isn't the same guy I worked with down in NC summers ago when you and I first met each other?

It sounds like his MO.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 22, 2013, 08:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by LIUmp View Post
He mentioned how he SAW both runners on the base "at first touch". I thought "how impressive, I wouldn't have immediately seen both of them on the base 'at first touch', maybe one but not both."
I can see your skepticism based on your previous encounters with that official... however, I would hope that on a play like this, on first touch your first reaction should be a quick glance at the runners. Why? For exactly a situation like this one. Glances don't take long, and as BU, what the heck else are you looking at at this point in the play? Also ... from C, both R1 and R2 are in your primary field of vision. It's your JOB to know whether they were off at that moment, and pay attention to whether they get all the way back. This is not something you should be impressed by or skeptical of (given a normal umpire and not one you're already automatically skeptical of).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 22, 2013, 05:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scranton, Pa.
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASA/NYSSOBLUE View Post
NYSSO - New York State Softball Officials ASA rules - but different mechanics on a lot of things. If you ever read Jay Miner's REFEREE column, you will encounter a lot of them, as he is our Rules/Mechanics Interpreter.
Delusional? Sounds like someone we know.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by LIUmp View Post
NYSSO rules (ASA) Rules, though I'd like to know if there's any difference with other rule sets.

R1 on 2nd, R2 on 1st, 0 out. B3 bunts a soft line drive just over the pitcher toward F6. Pitcher attempts to catch, but it hits her glove and pops in the air where the F6 comes in and makes a shoestring catch.

No call on the catch is made, nor is a call on the ball hitting the ground.
Well, other than you cannot have a "bunt" line drive over the pitcher's head , where does you play say anything about the ball hitting the ground?

Quote:
F6 throws to 2nd, and then F4 throws to first. DC yells, "triple play!" R1 advances to 3rd, R2 advances to 2nd. No tag of any runners is made. No call is made at either base.

BU calls time and asks plate ump if F6 caught the ball. They get together and determine that F6 DID catch the ball, but also that, at the time the ball hit the pitcher's glove, both runners were on their base at that moment, but then left the bases as soon as the ball was tipped. They rule B3 out on the catch and the runners are safe at 2nd and third. 1 out.
Okay, but lacking a call, the defense played the ball appropriately.

Quote:
I wasn't there, but my questions -

WHAT?

At the "instant" it hit the pitcher's glove, you mean to tell me that both umps, or at least one ump, SAW that the runners were touching their bases?
Did they see them OFF the base? With the ball in the air, I can understand a runner holding/returning to the base. Either way, there is not going to be anymore than the out on the catch. Worst case scenario is that the runners are returned to their respective base at the time of the touch.

Quote:
With no call being made, did this not cause some confusion for the defense/offense? Seems like one team made out quite well here.

Seems to me, and I only say this because one of the umpires involved is known for this, that this is a case of being an OOJ.

But maybe I'm wrong.

I know the rule, I am just asking about how the umpires handled this.
Let's just say, it could have been handled differently, but not necessarily wrong as we were not there to say it was wrong.

But based on your play, if I were asked to rule on the play, I would probably react as I posted earlier, call the out on the catch and return the runners to 1st & 2nd.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
return the runners to 1st & 2nd.
why? Jeopardy rule ? What did I miss?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
why? Jeopardy rule ? What did I miss?
If the umpire makes the call, the D doesn't turn what they believed to be a triple play. If the umpire make the call, the runners don't leave their respective bases.

Yes, the umpires' reversal, and it is a reversal since no out call would constitute a safe ruling, placed everyone in jeopardy.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
If the umpire makes the call, the D doesn't turn what they believed to be a triple play. If the umpire make the call, the runners don't leave their respective bases.

Yes, the umpires' reversal, and it is a reversal since no out call would constitute a safe ruling, placed everyone in jeopardy.
The runners left their base on the touch. They were most likely well on their way to the next base at the time it was actually caught. There is only a call upon the catch, so I cannot see where there's any reason to send the runners back.

THE KEY POINT - as runners can legally go on first touch it does not matter whether the ball was caught or not. They are legally advancing and there is no re-touch appeal possible.

The appropriate play for the defense was to know the runners could go on first touch. They blew it. Too bad.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong

Last edited by Rich Ives; Sun Apr 21, 2013 at 01:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
The runners left their base on the touch. They were most likely well on their way to the next base at the time it was actually caught. There is only a call upon the catch, so I cannot see where there's any reason to send the runners back.

THE KEY POINT - as runners can legally go on first touch it does not matter whether the ball was caught or not. They are legally advancing and there is no re-touch appeal possible.

The appropriate play for the defense was to know the runners could go on first touch. They blew it. Too bad.
I would agree with you if this were a travel team. But we're talking NY state varsity softball. I'll ASSURE you, virtually NO coach, and many umpires, don't know that portion of the rule here in this state in school ball. So for the runners to know this is HIGHLY doubtful.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire


As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interesting play David B Baseball 30 Sun Mar 10, 2013 03:16pm
Interesting Play BK47 Baseball 14 Wed Jun 02, 2010 12:15pm
Need a little help....Interesting play DrMooreReferee Football 7 Fri Aug 07, 2009 11:33am
Interesting play............ Cajun Reff Softball 22 Sat May 31, 2008 01:09am
An interesting play Patsfan2431 Football 14 Tue Oct 17, 2006 01:19pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1