Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA  If the umpire makes the call, the D doesn't turn what they believed to be a triple play.  If the umpire make the call, the runners don't leave their respective bases.
 Yes, the umpires' reversal, and it is a reversal since no out call would constitute a safe ruling, placed everyone in jeopardy.
 | 
	
 The runners left their base on the touch. They were most likely well on their way to the next base at the time it was actually caught. There is only a call upon the catch, so I cannot see where there's any reason to send the runners back.
THE KEY POINT - as runners can legally go on first touch it does not matter whether the ball was caught or not. They are legally advancing and there is no re-touch appeal possible.
The appropriate play for the defense was to know the runners could go on first touch. They blew it.  Too bad.