The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
why? Jeopardy rule ? What did I miss?
If the umpire makes the call, the D doesn't turn what they believed to be a triple play. If the umpire make the call, the runners don't leave their respective bases.

Yes, the umpires' reversal, and it is a reversal since no out call would constitute a safe ruling, placed everyone in jeopardy.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
If the umpire makes the call, the D doesn't turn what they believed to be a triple play. If the umpire make the call, the runners don't leave their respective bases.

Yes, the umpires' reversal, and it is a reversal since no out call would constitute a safe ruling, placed everyone in jeopardy.
The runners left their base on the touch. They were most likely well on their way to the next base at the time it was actually caught. There is only a call upon the catch, so I cannot see where there's any reason to send the runners back.

THE KEY POINT - as runners can legally go on first touch it does not matter whether the ball was caught or not. They are legally advancing and there is no re-touch appeal possible.

The appropriate play for the defense was to know the runners could go on first touch. They blew it. Too bad.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong

Last edited by Rich Ives; Sun Apr 21, 2013 at 01:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
The runners left their base on the touch. They were most likely well on their way to the next base at the time it was actually caught. There is only a call upon the catch, so I cannot see where there's any reason to send the runners back.

THE KEY POINT - as runners can legally go on first touch it does not matter whether the ball was caught or not. They are legally advancing and there is no re-touch appeal possible.

The appropriate play for the defense was to know the runners could go on first touch. They blew it. Too bad.
I would agree with you if this were a travel team. But we're talking NY state varsity softball. I'll ASSURE you, virtually NO coach, and many umpires, don't know that portion of the rule here in this state in school ball. So for the runners to know this is HIGHLY doubtful.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire


As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 04:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by LIUmp View Post
I would agree with you if this were a travel team. But we're talking NY state varsity softball. I'll ASSURE you, virtually NO coach, and many umpires, don't know that portion of the rule here in this state in school ball. So for the runners to know this is HIGHLY doubtful.
Maybe you have undereducated people in your part of the state but around where I live even 12U coaches and players know you can go on first touch.

NY Schools play by ASA rules. Never heard of NYSSO rules. The governing body is the NYSPHSAA.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong

Last edited by Rich Ives; Sun Apr 21, 2013 at 05:00pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Maybe you have undereducated people in your part of the state but around where I live even 12U coaches and players know you can go on first touch.

NY Schools play by ASA rules. Never heard of NYSSO rules. The governing body is the NYSPHSAA.
We play under ASA rules with some modifications that are specific to our state. NYSPHSAA is the NY State Public High School Athletic Association. This is the state high school athletic governing body. Softball falls under NYSSO - NY state softball officials organization.

I didn't make the rule, bro. That's insignificant anyway.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire


As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 05:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Maybe you have undereducated people in your part of the state but around where I live even 12U coaches and players know you can go on first touch.

NY Schools play by ASA rules. Never heard of NYSSO rules. The governing body is the NYSPHSAA.
Undereducated? The coaches will yell (and some umpires will call) a strike if the batter does NOT pull her bat back when she holds her bat out for a bunt. They think that's the rule.

Undereducated is on the money.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire


As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 07:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 763
Gotta love it - umpire run around like idiots with the arm up in the air to signal the most obvious of catches that simply do not need to be officiated at all.

Here, the umpires need to step up and make that call and they stand there and do nothing. Even with the SS charging in, the BU should have had an angle on the ball, certainly better than the straight-lined plate umpire. NYSSO would say that the base umpire should come up with a big "THAT'S A CATCH."

It is absolutely delusional to think that both runners were on base at the time the ball hit the pitcher's glove. They obviously didn't get back to the base and there is no way in hell that they are staying on the base after the pitch and after a hit. Ludicrous.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 09:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by LIUmp View Post
Undereducated? The coaches will yell (and some umpires will call) a strike if the batter does NOT pull her bat back when she holds her bat out for a bunt. They think that's the rule.

Undereducated is on the money.
Well - it IS the rule in NCAA, FED, and LL Softball. Don't be surprised that there's confusion.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong

Last edited by Rich Ives; Sun Apr 21, 2013 at 09:23pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 08:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
The runners left their base on the touch. They were most likely well on their way to the next base at the time it was actually caught. There is only a call upon the catch, so I cannot see where there's any reason to send the runners back.

THE KEY POINT - as runners can legally go on first touch it does not matter whether the ball was caught or not. They are legally advancing and there is no re-touch appeal possible.

The appropriate play for the defense was to know the runners could go on first touch. They blew it. Too bad.
This is the part I did not assume. OP simply said they left the base, don't know if they shot off to the next base or hesitated waiting for a call.

I would like to see it, but you are correct, it is quite possible there would be no reason to return the runner.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 22, 2013, 05:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post

THE KEY POINT - as runners can legally go on first touch it does not matter whether the ball was caught or not. They are legally advancing and there is no re-touch appeal possible.
That's not true. You need to know that. If the ball is uncaught the runners are out by force.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire


As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 21, 2013, 05:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
If the umpire makes the call, the D doesn't turn what they believed to be a triple play. If the umpire make the call, the runners don't leave their respective bases.

Yes, the umpires' reversal, and it is a reversal since no out call would constitute a safe ruling, placed everyone in jeopardy.
This was my thinking as well. Even though it likely would not have much mattered, the defense didn't turn what they were thinking was a triple play. When the defense threw it to second for the appeal, no call was made, because the umpires didn't know if the ball was caught or not. To make this call after the fact and allow the runners to advance in the confusion is to me enforcing a rule that would, by enforcement, benefit one team (offense). I came here to see if I was accurate in my thinking or if I'm way off base.

My instinct is that I would have called it this way as well. Batter out, runners return due to the confusion from the non call. But I would have had to be there to see this happen to really know what happened, and I don't know what would be appropriate here. That's why I posed the question.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire


As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter.

Last edited by LIUmp; Sun Apr 21, 2013 at 05:10pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interesting play David B Baseball 30 Sun Mar 10, 2013 03:16pm
Interesting Play BK47 Baseball 14 Wed Jun 02, 2010 12:15pm
Need a little help....Interesting play DrMooreReferee Football 7 Fri Aug 07, 2009 11:33am
Interesting play............ Cajun Reff Softball 22 Sat May 31, 2008 01:09am
An interesting play Patsfan2431 Football 14 Tue Oct 17, 2006 01:19pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1