The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 04, 2013, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Is this an illegal pitch

We have a pitcher that starts with pivot foot on the rubber and non pivot foot touching the rear of the rubber within the width of the rubber( perfectly legal). When she pitches she lands with here non pivot foot outside the rubbers width when delivering the pitch. Most times the heal would land withing the rubber width but sometimes it is outside the rubber completely. She is basically stepping across here body to through a curve that starts at a right hand batter and breaks away. We really don't find anything in the book about the non pivot foot landing outside on delivery as being illegal unless it starts outside at the stance.

This is NFHS rules HS varsity softball
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 04, 2013, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
The entire pitch must be delivered from within that 24" width, when your pitcher is outside that, she's illegal.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 04, 2013, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulg68 View Post
We really don't find anything in the book about the non pivot foot landing outside on delivery as being illegal...
You're just not looking hard enough.

See 6-1-2-b.

Once the hands are brought together and are in motion, the pitcher shall not take more than one step which must be forward, toward the batter and simultaneous with the delivery. Any step backward shall begin before the hands come together. The step backward may end before or after the hands come together.

NOTE: "Toward" is interpreted as within or partially within the 24-inch length of the pitcher's plate. (See "Figure")


In addition, the referenced "Figure" shows that the stride foot landing outside the 24" width is illegal.


Last edited by BretMan; Thu Apr 04, 2013 at 11:01am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 04, 2013, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
You're just not looking hard enough.

See 6-1-2-b.

Once the hands are brought together and are in motion, the pitcher shall not take more than one step which must be forward, toward the batter and simultaneous with the delivery. Any step backward shall begin before the hands come together. The step backward may end before or after the hands come together.

NOTE: "Toward" is interpreted as within or partially within the 24-inch length of the pitcher's plate. (See "Figure")


In addition, the referenced "Figure" shows that the stride foot landing outside the 24" width is illegal.

I saw that, but that shows the NP foot outside to start. So how you interpret that if her heel hits the rubber width line toward the catcher she would be legal then correct? As long as she starts with NP inside the rubber's width.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 04, 2013, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulg68 View Post
I saw that, but that shows the NP foot outside to start. So how you interpret that if her heel hits the rubber width line toward the catcher she would be legal then correct? As long as she starts with NP inside the rubber's width.
Starting or stopping does not matter, any of those with either foot outside "the lane" is illegal (the pitch/delivery, not the pitcher).
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 04, 2013, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulg68 View Post
I saw that, but that shows the NP foot outside to start. So how you interpret that if her heel hits the rubber width line toward the catcher she would be legal then correct? As long as she starts with NP inside the rubber's width.
If either foot is completely outside (i.e. NOT touching the 24" width at all) the 24", it's illegal. You seem hung up on whether the NP foot started inside or outside mattering wrt where it ends up. Keep in mind that 99% of the illegal pitches of this variety are exactly that... NP starting on the pitchers plate, and ending up 6 inches outside the 24" - doing that is illegal.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 04, 2013, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
If either foot is completely outside (i.e. NOT touching the 24" width at all) the 24", it's illegal. You seem hung up on whether the NP foot started inside or outside mattering wrt where it ends up. Keep in mind that 99% of the illegal pitches of this variety are exactly that... NP starting on the pitchers plate, and ending up 6 inches outside the 24" - doing that is illegal.
Thanks for the feedback. Our pitcher starts well inside the 24" but her heel hits the line across here body when she throws a curve or change up. I was just concerned about 80% of her foot being out at delivery towards the plate. We actually put a line down to see how much or if she was outside the 24". We know coaches are going to say something because it is a good pitch and just want to have the facts that her foot touching the imaginary line constitutes a legal pitch. We don't have the lines on the field in our state for HS.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 04, 2013, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Gulf Coast of TX to Destin Fl
Posts: 988
Also....it is a pitching plate....not a rubber.....you would not want a British person to mistake your "rubber" for an eraser......

Joel
__________________
Never argue with idiots...they drag you down to their level, then beat you with experience.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pitch - Illegal or No Pitch? Duke Softball 13 Fri Jul 09, 2004 10:17am
When does an leegal pitch BECOME and illegal pitch. Illini_Ref Baseball 4 Fri Apr 23, 2004 02:06pm
Legal Pitch vs. Illegal Pitch ? Deion Softball 15 Mon Jun 30, 2003 04:24pm
illegal ball... illegal pitch? [email protected] Baseball 5 Thu Apr 17, 2003 06:57pm
Hit by pitch along with Illegal pitch Del-Blue Softball 10 Sun Mar 09, 2003 09:49pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1