The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 05:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Here is my own "what if"...for ASA, what if the base(s) behind the trailing runner are all occupied? That is, what if the lead runner is forced? You can't send the trailing runner back then, can you? The ASA case play doesn't really cover that.

In this case, does ASA expect us to send the lead runner forward?

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Yes, just as you would an OBS runner entitled to a base which is occupied.

If the defense doesn't make a play, what are you going to do, tell them to make the play?

Meanwhile, you cannot force the runner to violate the LBR.
You seem to be saying to do this as a dead ball procedure. Correct?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 05:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 128
xtreamump

Sometimes you need to step out of your comfort zone and make something happen. There is a never say never application here.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 09:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Here is my own "what if"...for ASA, what if the base(s) behind the trailing runner are all occupied? That is, what if the lead runner is forced? You can't send the trailing runner back then, can you? The ASA case play doesn't really cover that.

In this case, does ASA expect us to send the lead runner forward?



You seem to be saying to do this as a dead ball procedure. Correct?
It would have to be dead to award bases.

Example: 1st & 2nd, less than two outs.

Soft line drive to F4, R1 off with the pitch, R2 gets tangled up with F3.
Thinking the ball will be caught, 3B coach waves R1 back to 2B. F4 knocks the ball to the ground and tags the OBS R2.

Now, you have a dead ball, with runners on 1, 1.5 & 2 base By rule, R2 cannot be ruled out between the bases where obstructed and you have to put the .5 on a base
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 runners on a base vcblue Softball 14 Tue Jun 02, 2009 09:07pm
Two runners on same base? fan Softball 3 Thu Apr 27, 2006 07:54pm
2 runners on third base strike4 Softball 4 Tue Nov 02, 2004 12:42pm
2-runners....1 base gumpire Baseball 49 Wed Apr 07, 2004 02:01pm
2 runners on the same base Gre144 Baseball 4 Mon Jun 04, 2001 07:58am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1