![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Well, like I said ... I guess when a ball gets past me, I will just slide and "accidentally" kick the ball under the fence.
I am not an official ... that is why I am asking. Seems to me, that you should get 1 extra base from last touched bag when the ball was obstructed with. Seems like an odd ruling. |
|
|||
|
Answer my question.
Quote:
In your honest opinion which way did you see this play happen? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Like I said, runner was rounding third at the time. The runner scored when his hands when up (for the ground rule double). Just seemed shady to me. |
|
|||
|
This is irrelevant.
Quote:
Bases loaded with two outs. A right handed batter hits a smash down the first base line. The fair batted ball bounces up and hits the first baseman on the shoulder and bounces over the dugout. Regardless of the fact that the ball hit the defender or the defender touched the ball this is a ground rule double. Anytime a fair batted ball goes in to dead ball territory under its own momentum and as long as the act was not intentional you have a ground rule double. The exception to this would be if a fair batted fly ball goes off of a defender glove and over the home run fence fair you would have a four base error which would not count against the home run count. From the way I read the OP this is pretty much the same play I described at the top of this post. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
That's not what happened in the OP play. There, the ball's momentum would not have caused it to go into DBT. It was the fielder's action that provided it the impetus to leave the field. You can't use 8-5I(2) here. Quote:
If we can't use 8-5I(2), which rule do we use? The problem is, there is no specific rule that covers this. That's why ASA came out with the rule clarification that Irishmafia provided. And they cited 8-5G as the rule that most closely applies to this situation. Since 8-5G only applies to thrown balls, the clarification specifically tells us that a ball unintentionally kicked into DBT is treated the same as a throw. So, the correct ruling for the OP is to award all runners two bases from when the fielder unintentionally kicked the ball under the fence. Yeah, it kinda makes 8-5K moot. But on a thrown ball into DBT, the ruling is the same whether it is intentional or not. The real reason behind 8-5K is to provide a more severe penalty for situations where a one-base award would apply if done unintentionally, such as when a fielder catches a fly ball near a DBT boundary and then goes beyond that boundary, or when a catcher chases down an errant pitch and then sends it into the dugout. But when it comes to batted balls, 8-5G is the best rule, per the ASA clarification, to use should a fielder provide the momentum to send the ball into DBT when the ball's momentum wouldn't have caused it to go out.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker Last edited by Manny A; Fri Sep 28, 2012 at 08:20am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the ball's status was still a batted ball, and if the umpire ruled this was unintentional, then the award for this is a 'book-rule double' (not a ground-rule double). Sometimes, it may seem that the rules burn one team or the other. In this case, you think the offense got robbed of additional bases. There are other scenarios where the defense will think the offense got more bases than they deserved. But the ruling is the same. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
You came here asking for a ruling on a play. Deputy is trying very hard to get you to answer the KEY question that needs to be answered to give you the right answer. Let me ask you this... If your runner hit a grounder, and ended up in an extremely close play at first, and you asked the umpire if your guy was safe or out, and he said, "In all honestly, it was a close call" - would you consider that an answer? I know ... you're not an umpire ... but an umpire MUST know the answer to the question you're being asked in order to rule properly. You were there. We were not. So you must provide the answer. Or we cannot answer with the proper ruling. "I can tell you 100% that if he did not touch the ball there is NO WAY that ball would have gone under the fence. " Please understand - this is ENTIRELY irrelevant to the situation at hand. Complain about what the rule is to someone else - we don't have the latitude to insert our personal choice of fairness on every situation ... we have the rulebook - and there is a rule to cover your situation. Fair or not - it is what the organization who created the rules you play under has decided will be fair in the majority of cases. There are a good number of rules that, when used in an extreme minority of situations, will seem "unfair" - but without them, we have anarchy.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Okay. Like I said, I will just accidentally kick the ball under the fence when it gets past me and let the official decide if it was "intentional" or not. Worth a shot according to the "rule".
Thanks for letting me know the rule. I do appreciate the help. Just sad that play was the last play in the championship game. We went back and next person popped out to end game. |
|
|||
|
Wow
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I, for one, hope you try it, and film it, and post it here. Trying to "accidentally" kick something with enough precision as to get it out of play would be an impressive feat. More likely you'll give the trail runner extra bases than anything else. (And if you do manage to get it out, I suspect the umpire's going to see how precise you had to kick that ball and rule it intentional). Hope you didn't blame the officials for your loss.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Gee, we never would have guessed that.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| I violated rule #1.....not THAT rule #1 | Judtech | Basketball | 148 | Mon Jan 31, 2011 09:09am |
| Rule 6 3O enforcement - 20 second pitch rule | wadeintothem | Softball | 5 | Tue Jun 30, 2009 03:33pm |
| Rule 1, The Forgotten Rule | TxJim | Football | 14 | Thu Jan 04, 2007 07:02pm |