The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2012, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref View Post
I don't believe "fair or foul" territory has an bearing on this play. Rule 8-7-h talks about an attempt to run to second base. Is flinching an attempt? Sounds like a HTBT.

I'm probably not seeing that as an attempt to run to 2B.
You said:
Quote:
I don't believe "fair or foul" territory has an bearing on this play. Rule 8-7-h talks about an attempt to run to second base.

He already stated:
Quote:
the "flinch" was big enough to warrant jeopardy if it was in fair territory...

So how can you say?
Quote:
I'm probably not seeing that as an attempt to run to 2B

Just curious.

Last edited by HugoTafurst; Mon Jul 02, 2012 at 12:18pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2012, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
Which set of rules?

I have to echo Rich and ask if you checked the book right after the game.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2012, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
I'll try and explain my thinking.

I was clarifying that it doesn't matter if the flinch occurred in fair/foul territory.

So it seems he's applying a standard (if she's in fair) that doesn't matter or exist. A flinch to me is moving my head quickly at a backstop on a foul ball.

There can a pretty big gap between a flinch, and attempting to run to 2B.

He saw a flinch as an attempt,good enough for me. I see a flinch as a minor movement of the head, elbow, or other body part. I see an attempt along the lines of a step towards 2B.

Confused now ? I am.
__________________
"I'll take you home" says Geoff Tate
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2012, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
I'd like PONY and ASA's ruling. Happened last night, just thinking about it now (in work, instead of working ), so no book to refer to...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2012, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
ASA just says she can be tagged if she makes an attempt. The Rules supplement specifically says fair/foul is irrelevant.

Last edited by jwwashburn; Mon Jul 02, 2012 at 12:53pm. Reason: /
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2012, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
FWIW, to my knowledge:
1) Technically (NFHS) a runner attempting to advance to 2nd after overrunning 1st is a (live ball) appeal play. In practical terms, it is treated similar to appealing a runner leaving base before a caught fly ball is touched in that the tag of the runner is assumed to be an appeal that she attempted to advance (whether stated or not)
2) The direction a BR first turns (after overrunning 1st) is not relevant to being tagged out "attempting to advance", BUT in many rule sets it IS relevant as relates to the look back rule.

For instance:

2011NFHS

Quote:
SECTION 7 (F.P.) LOOK-BACK RULE
ART. 4 . . . Responsibilities of batter-runner after completing a turn at bat, and while the pitcher has the ball within the 16-foot pitching circle, including a base on balls or a dropped third strike are as follows:

a. A batter-runner who rounds first base toward second base may stop, but
then must immediately, without stopping, return to first or attempt to
advance to second base.

b. A batter-runner who overruns first base toward right field, turns left and
immediately stops, must then return non-stop to first or attempt to advance
to second base.

c. A batter-runner who overruns first base toward right field, turns left and
moves directly toward second base and stops is committed to second and
must attempt to advance non-stop to second base.

d. A batter-runner who overruns first base toward right field, turns left and
moves back toward the infield in any direction except directly toward second
base is committed to first and must return to first base.

e. A batter-runner who overruns first base toward right field, and turns right,
is committed to first base and must return to first base.
I know it's more than you asked.... but what the heck
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2012, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by HugoTafurst View Post
I know it's more than you asked.... but what the heck
Not really more because it shows that even in the most stringent rule, ther is no mention of fair or foul.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2012, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
c,d & e are my favorite rules in the book (that's not wrong, is it?)

Had a coach tell me "You're wrong, blue!! We've been doing this for YEARS!! It's called the Sneaky Steal!!

Had a coach tell me she already ran this past the tournament director just in case, and he was fine with it.

It's about the only rule I can quote, chapter and verse, for them to read out in the parking lot, when they argue themselves into an ejection.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2012, 01:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
c,d & e are my favorite rules in the book (that's not wrong, is it?)

Had a coach tell me "You're wrong, blue!! We've been doing this for YEARS!! It's called the Sneaky Steal!!

Had a coach tell me she already ran this past the tournament director just in case, and he was fine with it.

It's about the only rule I can quote, chapter and verse, for them to read out in the parking lot, when they argue themselves into an ejection.
FWIW (again) (I don't know IFA), but the only rule that would allow you to pull the "Sneaky Steal" is NCAA.
(And I don't think I'd hear that description).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batter/Runner Int. mj Baseball 18 Thu Jul 22, 2010 10:26pm
ASA Batter-Runner INT IRISHMAFIA Softball 7 Tue Mar 02, 2010 08:04pm
tag on batter/runner shipwreck Softball 30 Fri Oct 13, 2006 10:28am
Umpire putting Batter/Runner in jeopardy? DaveASA/FED Softball 32 Fri Mar 17, 2006 05:49pm
Runner hit by batted ball, scoring runner, batter wfwbb Baseball 12 Sat Jul 17, 2004 03:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1