![]() |
|
|
|||
In the Act of Fielding the Ball
Question for ASA rules.
I know that NFHS has the "step and reach" guideline for when a fielder is fielding a batted ball, but muffs it. If the ball gets away, but the fielder is still within a step and reach of the ball, the fielder is still considered to be making the initial play on the ball. Is there a similar guideline for ASA? I know that they don't mention the phrase "step and reach" in their rule book. Is there an interpretation, guideline, rule or rule of thumb that covers this? If a fielder bobbles his first try at fielding the ball, just how much longer/further can he still be considered as "still in the act" of fielding the ball? Just for the sake of the discussion...I'm picturing a batted ball that hits the fielder or his glove and then is loose on the ground. Last edited by BretMan; Thu Jun 28, 2012 at 10:56am. |
|
|||
Quote:
did the fielder still have an opportunity to make an out? (and has the ball past the infielder) |
|
|||
I see where you're coming from (at least, on the first part, not so sure about the second part).
But "having the opportunity to make an out" isn't one of the requirements for interference when a fielder is fielding a batted ball. His protection is absolute, whether the opportunity for an out is there or not...isn't it? Unless you're saying that after the bobble the fielder is no longer "in the act of fielding the ball", so a different standard applies (an opportunity for an out). On the second part- the ball could be "past" the fielder and yet still be within his reach. |
|
|||
Speaking ASA, neither are relevant.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
I'm not aware of any official interpretation in writing anywhere, but all my training generally included the "step and a reach" concept in judging interference after an initial bobble of the ball.
NFHS just codified it.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
In my judgement she/he was still in the act of fielding a batted ball. Thats all you need!!
I agree with Andy the step and reach is a general guideline but NEVER say that to a coach in an ASA game, they will attempt to say you misapplied the rule using NFHS rules in the ASA game. Simply say my first sentence if ever asked by a coach!! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
BR interference with catcher fielding bunt | reccer | Softball | 32 | Sun Jul 08, 2007 02:45am |
In the act of fielding | rwest | Softball | 1 | Wed May 17, 2006 07:33am |
Runner coliding with Catcher While Fielding a Thrown Ball | UmpJordan | Baseball | 14 | Tue Sep 21, 2004 02:06pm |
Fielding a team | Mattinglyfan | Baseball | 18 | Wed May 21, 2003 09:36am |