The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 26, 2012, 08:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwwashburn View Post
A first baseman who has fielded a grounder in fair territory is required to use the white part of the bag. This is clear. If that fielder goes to the colored part, the intention of the rule would have me assume that the runner gets whatever part she wants, right?

Did I just make any sense?

Joe in Florida
You describe a ground ball to F3. F3 fields the ball (cleanly) and touches the orange part of the base.

Your question is, "What obligation does the B/R have?" IMJ, F3 has not touched the proper portion of the bag because the ball was fielded in fair territory. The B/R, still has an obligation to touch the colored base, UNLESS there is risk of collision. I would not penalize B/R for using the white base if the two bodies were in close proximity. This is a HTBT situation.
__________________
Red meat is not bad for you. Fuzzy green meat is bad for you.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double first base question Big Slick Softball 25 Thu Jul 29, 2010 02:36pm
Pitcher w/Multi-Colored Glove tskill Baseball 12 Wed May 11, 2005 11:14pm
Flesh Colored Bandaid emaxos Softball 7 Mon Mar 21, 2005 08:49am
First Base Question LDUB Baseball 2 Wed Jun 30, 2004 10:51am
Another double base question... KSBlue Softball 3 Tue Jun 10, 2003 02:44pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1