![]() |
|
|||
Detachable base ruling and over thrown ball
ASA rules:
R1 on first, B2 hits a base hit, R1 advances to second base, slides, and takes the detachable base with him, which places the base about 4 feet from where it should be. Runner is called safe on the bang bang play. The ball drops out of F4's glove, but I called time. My PU brings me to a conference and said not to call time in the chance that the runner wished to advance to third. Here's my logic, as the base was not in the correct spot, R2 would have either tried to step on the anchor (safety hazard) or went to the location of the misplaced bag. What would you all do in that situation? I am trying to learn the correct call, as I am still a rookie. Also, no one on ,B2 hits a blooper to the right infield, F4 throws to F3, who misses and the ball goes into the dug out. Time is called, PU awards the runner third. He was on his way to first and that was it. I thought that in ASA, if a ball is thrown into a dead ball area, on an errant throw, only the base the runner was on the way to, plus one was awarded? What's the call? Thanks everyone Last edited by BillM.; Sun Jun 03, 2012 at 12:29pm. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Ball hits base ump. What's the ruling? | bobref1 | Baseball | 1 | Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:02pm |
Thrown Elbow - Live Ball vs. Dead Ball | rfp | Basketball | 19 | Sun Nov 12, 2006 05:15am |
Ball thrown to 1st base after BB/Walk ???? | snailpace | Baseball | 41 | Tue Jun 13, 2006 08:03am |
Base Umpire Hit By Thrown Ball | Blue316 | Baseball | 13 | Sun Aug 18, 2002 08:53am |