View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 03, 2012, 12:19pm
BillM. BillM. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 15
Detachable base ruling and over thrown ball

ASA rules:

R1 on first, B2 hits a base hit, R1 advances to second base, slides, and takes the detachable base with him, which places the base about 4 feet from where it should be. Runner is called safe on the bang bang play. The ball drops out of F4's glove, but I called time.

My PU brings me to a conference and said not to call time in the chance that the runner wished to advance to third.

Here's my logic, as the base was not in the correct spot, R2 would have either tried to step on the anchor (safety hazard) or went to the location of the misplaced bag.

What would you all do in that situation? I am trying to learn the correct call, as I am still a rookie.

Also, no one on ,B2 hits a blooper to the right infield, F4 throws to F3, who misses and the ball goes into the dug out. Time is called, PU awards the runner third. He was on his way to first and that was it.

I thought that in ASA, if a ball is thrown into a dead ball area, on an errant throw, only the base the runner was on the way to, plus one was awarded?

What's the call?

Thanks everyone

Last edited by BillM.; Sun Jun 03, 2012 at 12:29pm.
Reply With Quote