![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I hate the term train wreck. With the current softball rules, just about the only remaining "train wreck" (as in ... a collision that is neither OBS or INT) is when a fielder who has already gained possession of the ball contacts a runner, but there is no tag. Most anything else that someone labels "train wreck" is now either OBS or INT.
Personally, I thought this was a bad no-call ... and then even worse, a horrible mistake allowing the runner to score. We expect better from these guys.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
But that applies if the runner deviates (reacts, slows, etc) while the ball is closer to the fielder than she is... if there's a collision, we're kind of past the time that ATR would apply, aren't we? Maybe I'm not catching your meaning. Describe for me a collision where you'd not call OBS because of ATR.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
(Not always ... but nearly so)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Refers to both Mike, it (9.3) reads......"in the act of fielding a batted ball or about to receive a thrown ball......"
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
It says what you quoted... it does not say, "about to receive a fielded ball or about to receive a thrown ball." ATR refers only to a thrown ball, like Mike said.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
mb..... help me out, not disagreeing with your reply, are you referencing 9.4.2?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Only took me four hours to understand what you were saying!!! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Regarding ATR - we're taught that ATR means that the fielder can move into the basepath to receive a thrown ball as the ball becomes closer to the fielder than the runner. There is no case where a collision could occur where the fielder is about to receive a ball that is closer to him than the runner - the collision makes that distance zero. I will say that I omitted a significant TW from my original statement though - that being the batter getting out of the box as the catcher's coming out to field a bunt.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Not to belabor the point (since I think we agree, here), but you are using precise physics to describe a playing action being observed by a human. In the situation where both ball and runner arrive at the same (observable) time, it is still a wreck.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Fair enough ... I just find the term immensely overused given our current rule-set. I see your point though.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
The runner blatantly interfered. I have watched the play over and over in slow motion and the ball was up against the fielder's body and glove when the runner ran into her. Since when was the fielder required to play the ball with 100% accuracy in order to be protected? This isn't the case of a deflected ball bounced 5 feet away. The ball only "gets away" when the runner bashed into the 2nd baseman.
I am one of the bigger proponents of having more "no-call wrecks." However, to have a wreck, both parties must be doing what they are supposed to be doing. Running directly into a fielder fielding the ball is NOT what the offense should be doing. The offense is required to vacate the area needed by the defense to execute the play. NCAA Rule 12.19.1.4.3: "It is still INTERFERENCE if a batted ball is misplayed and remains in front of the fielder such that the fielder still has an opportunity to make a play, and the base runner contacts the fielder. Exception: If the misplayed ball bounds away or past the fielder and then contact occurs as the fielder and base runner collide, this may be considered inadvertent contact, interference or obstruction. INTERFERENCE WAS THE CORRECT CALL. IT WAS NOT CALLED.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out. No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk). Realistic officiating does the sport good. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| wcws ump | ronald | Softball | 14 | Sun Jun 05, 2011 12:00am |
| WCWS Umpires? | Dholloway1962 | Softball | 33 | Mon May 18, 2009 11:47am |
| WCWS - Umpires | PublicBJ | Softball | 10 | Wed Jun 15, 2005 08:08am |
| WCWS last night | coachfanmom | Softball | 7 | Fri Jun 03, 2005 01:21pm |
| WCWS: mechanics? | LMan | Softball | 10 | Tue Jun 01, 2004 02:51pm |