![]() |
|
|
|||
Question from WCWS
My 12 YO daughter and I were watching the Hawaii vs North Dakota State game this weekend, and had a question regarding a play that happened in the game.
North Dakota State was batting, two out, runners on first and second. The ball was hit to the second baseman, and just as the ball got there the baserunner going from first to second collided with the second baseman. Runner goes flying, fielder goes flying, ball goes flying. As the runner is trying to crawl to second base, the shortstop picks up the ball and tags the runner out before she gets to the base. Prior to the tag, the runner who was on second base crossed home plate. The Hawaii coach was ejected arguing over the interference call, but what my daughter and I did not understand was that the run was counted. Isn't tagging the runner the same as stepping on the bag, thus forcing the runner and negating the run? Thanks in advance. |
|
|||
Quote:
You and your daughter are correct....good catch! |
|
|||
It appears F4 muffed the play on the ball prior to the contact, hence the non interference call. Now the question is, why didnt the umpire now rule obstruction on F4? The fielder was not in posession of the ball, was no longer making a play on the ball and definitely hindered the runner.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
IMO, watched the replay numerous times....wreck? possible; INF? possible; OBS? no. |
|
|||
So, that wasnt interference or obstruction, but then in the Notre Dame/ UA game they called a runner for interference who was in the baseline and had a ball thrown directly at her.
Last edited by RKBUmp; Sun May 20, 2012 at 09:37pm. |
|
|||
I'm sure I'm missing something, but you're losing me here. What's an INF call in the ND/UA game have to do with this call?
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
I had the opportunity to speak with the UIC for this regional.
The explanation for the non-interference call is that is was a judgement call be the umpire. Period. The explanation for why the run was allowed to score - after the collision, umpire states he saw the runner touch second base, lost contact with the base, and was tagged out. The force was not in effect when the runner was tagged. Yes, this was part of a conversation between innings that we did not see on TV.....
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
Quote:
But after reading that statement, all I can say is WTF? I can't believe how he could say that to his crew or the UIC. His eyes (actually his head) never seemed to move away from the runner and the bag, nor did it appear that he, at any point, got screened by any of the players. I was impressed that he stayed with the play, despite all the chaos, and was right there for the out call on the tag. So his statement really has me scratching my head. Question Andy, any mention by the UIC of video of the play being reviewed with the crew after the game? |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
wcws ump | ronald | Softball | 14 | Sun Jun 05, 2011 12:00am |
WCWS Umpires? | Dholloway1962 | Softball | 33 | Mon May 18, 2009 11:47am |
WCWS - Umpires | PublicBJ | Softball | 10 | Wed Jun 15, 2005 08:08am |
WCWS last night | coachfanmom | Softball | 7 | Fri Jun 03, 2005 01:21pm |
WCWS: mechanics? | LMan | Softball | 10 | Tue Jun 01, 2004 02:51pm |