The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2003, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by DaveASA/FED
Just to make sure I am following you all. You would call a dead ball and reset the field (R1 at first) and BR at the plate? No matter if R1 was safe or out at 2nd? What if it was a passed ball? And if you would reset R1 is this different than a runner taking off to 1st on ball 3 thinking it's 4 in that this was an umpire act that changed the count not a player/coaches screw up?
Taking your last question first, the rule (10-6C) only applies if the umpire makes a delayed call (e.g. late calling of a dropped infield fly results in runners advancing because they think they are forced & being put out) or a reversed call (the situation discussed in this thread). If the batter has the count wrong and advances on ball 3, then that is a live ball play and whatever happens, happens.

Your first question, application of 10-6C is a judgment call as to whether anyone was placed in jeopardy. In the case of a wild pitch or passed ball, the umpire may very well rule that the defense was not placed in jeopardy wrt the runner's advance - that was due to the WP/PB and not the changed call, and leave the runner on 2nd.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1