The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2003, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 953
Saw this the other day, R1 on 1st 3-1 count on batter. She checked her swing and PU calls a ball, BR trotts to 1st, R1 trotting to 2nd. Catcher asks PU to check with BU, he signals that she went thus makeing it a 3-2 count. Pitcher now throws the ball to 2nd basewoman who tags R1 out 3 steps before 2nd. Now what is the call??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2003, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 298
Dead Ball....Put the Runner back on 1st.
__________________
We Don't Look for Problems.....They find Us.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2003, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Maine
Posts: 151
I don't disagree with a dead ball but can you point me to any ruling on this? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2003, 10:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 476
Send a message via ICQ to SamNVa Send a message via AIM to SamNVa Send a message via Yahoo to SamNVa
Kellerumps,

You are the 2nd (and 3rd?) umpire(s) whose opinion I respect who have said to return the runner to 1st. Is this a softball ruling? Do you consider it a 10-6-C situation?

I know that in baseball (don't beat me up too badly, Mike) the runner would be out. There is a specific baseball ruling that says that runners and fielders must be aware of the fact that a check swing reversal with a 3-x count could put the runner in jeopardy. That's why I always taught my catcher to throw down to 2nd on a walk on an apparent check swing then ask the PU to check with the BU on the check swing.

SamC
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2003, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 298
Yes 10-6-C is what I am working under. If I(as PU) say "Ball" and it is ball 4 then the batter is free to proceed to 1st. If that call gets overturned on appeal, then we put the baserunners back to where they were at the time of appeal.
__________________
We Don't Look for Problems.....They find Us.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2003, 05:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
I always try to go to partner when count is 3-1 or
3-2 and there is a check swing..."Partner, swing.
{that swing is for Mike's benefit, I usually asked did she
go...LOL}

SamC.

I tend to agree with Keller's. We as the umpire, have put the
batter and runner in these positions, by announcing "ball".
Therefore we allowed the advancement and the defense is helpless
until the appeal is asked for, which in this case seems somewhat
after the batter had stated towards 1B so their opportunity to
get the runner going to 2B is slim. Return her and play on.

JMO

glen
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2003, 11:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 508
Wink

Quote:
Originally posted by SamNVa
Kellerumps,

You are the 2nd (and 3rd?) umpire(s) whose opinion I respect who have said to return the runner to 1st. Is this a softball ruling? Do you consider it a 10-6-C situation?

I know that in baseball (don't beat me up too badly, Mike) the runner would be out. There is a specific baseball ruling that says that runners and fielders must be aware of the fact that a check swing reversal with a 3-x count could put the runner in jeopardy. That's why I always taught my catcher to throw down to 2nd on a walk on an apparent check swing then ask the PU to check with the BU on the check swing.

SamC
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!1
Sam, know why BB is different???? Cuz(at least down here) all the way old guys work softball, they are real slow to appeal........ Please guys, THIS was a joke....LOL
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2003, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 953
Just to make sure I am following you all. You would call a dead ball and reset the field (R1 at first) and BR at the plate? No matter if R1 was safe or out at 2nd? What if it was a passed ball? And if you would reset R1 is this different than a runner taking off to 1st on ball 3 thinking it's 4 in that this was an umpire act that changed the count not a player/coaches screw up?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2003, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by DaveASA/FED
Just to make sure I am following you all. You would call a dead ball and reset the field (R1 at first) and BR at the plate? No matter if R1 was safe or out at 2nd? What if it was a passed ball? And if you would reset R1 is this different than a runner taking off to 1st on ball 3 thinking it's 4 in that this was an umpire act that changed the count not a player/coaches screw up?
Taking your last question first, the rule (10-6C) only applies if the umpire makes a delayed call (e.g. late calling of a dropped infield fly results in runners advancing because they think they are forced & being put out) or a reversed call (the situation discussed in this thread). If the batter has the count wrong and advances on ball 3, then that is a live ball play and whatever happens, happens.

Your first question, application of 10-6C is a judgment call as to whether anyone was placed in jeopardy. In the case of a wild pitch or passed ball, the umpire may very well rule that the defense was not placed in jeopardy wrt the runner's advance - that was due to the WP/PB and not the changed call, and leave the runner on 2nd.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2003, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally posted by DaveASA/FED
Just to make sure I am following you all. You would call a dead ball and reset the field (R1 at first) and BR at the plate? No matter if R1 was safe or out at 2nd? What if it was a passed ball? And if you would reset R1 is this different than a runner taking off to 1st on ball 3 thinking it's 4 in that this was an umpire act that changed the count not a player/coaches screw up?
Dave,

You added some details to the play. I only responded to the situation that was given, which based on the information given would be my call with a RULE to back me up.

__________________
We Don't Look for Problems.....They find Us.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2003, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Elaine Send a message via Yahoo to Elaine
Question

I thought we already answered this over on eteamz!

???????

__________________
Elaine
"Lady Blue"
Metro Atlanta ASA (retired)
Georgia High School NFHS (retired)
Mom of former Travel Player
National Indicator Fraternity 1995
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2003, 04:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,551
Quote:
Originally posted by DaveASA/FED
Just to make sure I am following you all. You would call a dead ball and reset the field (R1 at first) and BR at the plate? No matter if R1 was safe or out at 2nd? What if it was a passed ball? And if you would reset R1 is this different than a runner taking off to 1st on ball 3 thinking it's 4 in that this was an umpire act that changed the count not a player/coaches screw up?
Based on the original scenario, safe or out is irrelevent. It was stated that R1 was trotting to 2B, thereby only attempting to advance due to what was perceived as ball 4.

If it is a passed ball, you're not going to ask until after the play finishes. R1 stays wherever she ends up. If put out, I would have to be at 2B and I would need to believe the call placed the runner in jeopardy, B comes back to assume count.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2003, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Talking

Totally agree. A passed ball and a possible checked swing
are , , {different animals}

glen
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1