View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2003, 11:37pm
chris s chris s is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 508

Originally posted by SamNVa

You are the 2nd (and 3rd?) umpire(s) whose opinion I respect who have said to return the runner to 1st. Is this a softball ruling? Do you consider it a 10-6-C situation?

I know that in baseball (don't beat me up too badly, Mike) the runner would be out. There is a specific baseball ruling that says that runners and fielders must be aware of the fact that a check swing reversal with a 3-x count could put the runner in jeopardy. That's why I always taught my catcher to throw down to 2nd on a walk on an apparent check swing then ask the PU to check with the BU on the check swing.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!1
Sam, know why BB is different???? Cuz(at least down here) all the way old guys work softball, they are real slow to appeal........ Please guys, THIS was a joke....LOL
Reply With Quote