![]() |
|
|
|||
Umpire error, or BOO?
3-0 count on B1. Next pitch is ball 4, but neither B1, OC or PU realize it. PU calls 3-0 count, and B1 stays in the box. Next pitch is fouled off by B1. O coach asks PU if that was ball 4 on the previous pitch. PU asks BU what he has for a count. BU says he had ball 4 on the last pitch, and now he has 0-1. They check with the home book, confirming ball 4 was indeed thrown, and the last pitch was fouled off.
Is the count now 3-1 to B1, or do you have BOO to B2 with a non-awarded base on balls? NCAA, NFHS, and ASA please. (and no, this did not happen to me. ![]()
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
Is your correction to put the batter on first base ... and if so, does the next batter have an 0-1 count? Or does the batter now have a 3-1 count? (Personally, I think an umpire could justify any of the above. I believe I'd be putting the batter on 1st, no count on the next batter - that next "pitch" wasn't really a pitch - BR had not yet accepted her award, so all we really had was pitcher and catcher throwing the ball back and forth) This does raise an interesting question... two really... 1) Does your answer change if it was strike three instead of ball four? 2) What do you do if batter hits that 4-1 pitch?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Xtreamump
This does raise an interesting question... two really...
1) Does your answer change if it was strike three instead of ball four? 2) What do you do if batter hits that 4-1 pitch? Please tell us, we are just waiting for your words to Umpire by. Maybe the old Irish Ump with the ear rings can help. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Thank you for typing my thought:
" I believe I'd be putting the batter on 1st, no count on the next batter - that next "pitch" wasn't really a pitch - BR had not yet accepted her award, so all we really had was pitcher and catcher throwing the ball back and forth"
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Umpire Error | rottiron01 | Softball | 19 | Wed Jun 10, 2009 08:05pm |
Umpire Error | rottiron01 | Softball | 26 | Sun Jun 07, 2009 07:37pm |
Umpire Error--Ruling? | Young IN Ref | Softball | 13 | Thu Jul 17, 2008 10:31am |
Umpire error ? | debeau | Softball | 1 | Tue Oct 04, 2005 07:42am |
Umpire Error | Marty Rogers | Baseball | 4 | Thu Apr 25, 2002 02:15pm |