The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 05, 2012, 10:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
(I'll address the ASA rule, not being an NCAA umpire).

When this question came up on another internet forum, some seemed to think that once the third out was recorded (batter-runner going into second base) that the runner who missed the plate could no longer correct his baserunning error.

They were basing this on 5-5-B(2). That rule says that no run shall score when a runner being put out on a tag play is the third out and it occurs prior to the lead runner touching home plate.

Their reasoning didn't seem right to me. Obviously, if there had been no appeal of the missed base, and no retouch, the run would have counted- even though the runner did not "touch" the plate. When the rule refers to "touching" the plate, isn't it really talking about "reaching" or "passing" the plate?

What rule or interpretation supports that a runner may, or may not, correct a baserunning mistake after the third out is recorded?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 Second Count SteveF Basketball 16 Fri Apr 23, 2004 03:55pm
10 Second Count JLC Basketball 1 Mon Mar 29, 2004 09:54am
10 second count Jay R Basketball 4 Wed Mar 03, 2004 07:47pm
Count it or not ? GA ref Basketball 20 Tue Mar 02, 2004 02:12am
Does the Run Count? sbua Baseball 2 Mon May 26, 2003 07:08am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1