The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 20, 2004, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 63
Okay by NFHS rules when does the 5 second count stop? When the ball is touched inbounds or when the ball is released. I know what I think but do not have my rulebook handy and need this confirmed.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 20, 2004, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
When the ball is released.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 20, 2004, 03:39pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
What Mark said.

Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
When the ball is released.
YU.P.
YU.P.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 20, 2004, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
When the ball is released.
Has this changed in the last year or two?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 20, 2004, 04:13pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally posted by SteveF
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
When the ball is released.
Has this changed in the last year or two?
Nope. Maybe 25/30 years ago, the count kept going until the ball was touched in bounds. Changed a long time ago, iow.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 20, 2004, 04:59pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,496
Until I came to this board, I did not even realize that was a rule (count not ending on the release). The things you learn here.

I guess I was two young.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2004, 09:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
I guess I was two young.
Maybe even three young!
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 22, 2004, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 365
Talking

that's great Chuck
__________________
"referee the defense"
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 22, 2004, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by SteveF
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
When the ball is released.
Has this changed in the last year or two?
I guess that means you guessed wrong.

It was changed in the mid-80's.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 22, 2004, 05:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 186
Question

Just as a 10 second count stops AFTER it gets to the front court (not on the release from the back court) correct?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 22, 2004, 06:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally posted by TPS2859
Just as a 10 second count stops AFTER it gets to the front court (not on the release from the back court) correct?

Correct.

Except the 10-second backcourt stoppage is not just like the 5-second throw-in stoppage. Kinda opposite.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 22, 2004, 06:38pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveF
Okay by NFHS rules when does the 5 second count stop? When the ball is touched inbounds or when the ball is released. I know what I think but do not have my rulebook handy and need this confirmed.
To be nit-picky, the count stops when the ball is released toward the court. If (when allowed) two players OOB pass it to each other while OOB, the count does not stop because one released it toward the other.

And to answer your next question - yes, they can bounce it to each other.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 23, 2004, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 52
On a similar note-A1 is inbounding the ball from the baseline or sideline:

A1 steps on the out of bounds line-but not on to the court-while releasing the ball-This is legal?

A1 used a bounce pass-the ball hits the baseline and then A2 receives the ball-Illegal?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 23, 2004, 11:59am
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by twref
On a similar note-A1 is inbounding the ball from the baseline or sideline:

A1 steps on the out of bounds line-but not on to the court-while releasing the ball-This is legal?

A1 used a bounce pass-the ball hits the baseline and then A2 receives the ball-Illegal?
1)The OOB line is OOB, so you can step on it all you want and you're still OOB.

2)The inbounds throw-in must go directly onto the court. If it hits OOB anywhere first, it's a violation.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 23, 2004, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 52
Thanks Mark-I tried to inform the coach of an AAU team about the 2nd scenario-shockingly he thought I was wrong.

Another scenario please: A is in the front court with the ball. Wing player A1 passes the ball-goes off B1's hand-off A2's hand and then into the back court. The ball is then either touched/controlled by A2 in the back court-I assume over and back violation.

Wing player A1 passes the ball to A2 and allthough the ball never goes into the back court A2's foot touches the division line while making contact with the ball-over and back violation?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1