The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 26, 2011, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
I don't think you are being very clear in your question. There are two possible answers, depending on what you mean.

If a runner leaves a base as (meaning at the same time as) the pitcher receives the ball in the circle, then that is a legal advance. And if off the base legally, the runner does get one stop or change of direction.

If a pitcher leaves a base after the pitcher controls the ball in the circle, then the cited 8.7-T(2) states the runner is out.

The difference is one of timing. Runners get an instant to determine that the pitcher does, in fact, have control in the circle before the lookback rule applies; the act of throwing it there doesn't make an instantaneous requirement on contact with the pitcher's glove. After all, the pitcher could miss or bobble the ball, and the ball remains in play during that time; so any play initiated at that instant (and before it has been determined the pitcher has control) is legal.

As an umpire, you should use the same timing urged for timing (force) plays. See the play, make sure there is a (controlled) catch, THEN call the out. If you call it on contact, you risk the double (out, no safe) call, as you never saw the completion of the play. Use that timing here; if the runner leaves the base before you judge control, then the runner left before the runner saw the ball in the pitcher's control in the circle, and that is legal. To call that runner out is treating the LBR as a "gotcha".

When teaching rec leagues and their coaches in clinics, I refer to that instant as a "decision moment". Every runner gets one as it applies to the LBR. If the decision moment happens while off a base and moving, then the runner still has one stop or change of direction available. If the decision moment happens while off a base and standing still, then that one first move within reaction time is the one and only direction available. If the decision moment happens while on a base and standing still, then leaving the base is a violation itself.
Well done !

And it is NOT a "gotcha" rule.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 26, 2011, 06:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Well done !

And it is NOT a "gotcha" rule.
Really?

How can the pitcher be in the circle if she is leaving the base after controlling the ball in the circle?

Just kidding. As usual Steve gives a good explanation to the possible differences.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Over and back rule dbmcubs21 Basketball 32 Sat Feb 26, 2011 04:34pm
Over and Back Rule mikwilmot Basketball 16 Wed Feb 02, 2011 05:31pm
Look Back Rule BuggBob Softball 7 Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:32am
Look Back Rule WestMichBlue Softball 28 Mon Oct 06, 2003 08:43pm
New look back rule (ASA) Dakota Softball 6 Fri Dec 07, 2001 12:00am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1