The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 11, 2011, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASA/NYSSOBLUE View Post
So the DP coming in to play 2B for the FLEX is NOT a sub. just another one of the 9 playing defense at the time.
But the FLEX is out of the game, only 9 are playing, and the FLEX player can only return as a re-entry.

The "any 9 in that lineup can play anywhere on defense" is any 9 that includes the FLEX, unless the FLEX goes out of the game. The FLEX can not just bat and be on the bench like the DP or the other 8 players.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 11, 2011, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 871
Hijacking the thread because I do not think this deserves its own thread and it is related to test wording on the test we took in our state.

True or False:
Players removed from the game for displaying symptoms of a concussion shall not be permitted to return without authorization form from a health care professional. Rule 3-3-9.

I answered False, because authorization does not need to be in writing.
Use of the word "form" in the question, indicated to me that the authorization would have been written. I mean, how can you have a form and it not be written.

I got dinged on the test, because the answer was supposed to be True.

We had a study guide where many questions were illustrated with the correct answers that we reviewed in a local association meeting.

On the study guide the question was written like this:
"Players removed from the game for displaying symptoms of a concussion shall not be permitted to return without written authorization form from a health care professional. Rule 3-3-9."

The test admin removed the word "written" but neglected to remove the word "form".
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 11, 2011, 02:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Orange County NY
Posts: 698
Send a message via Yahoo to ASA/NYSSOBLUE
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
But the FLEX is out of the game, only 9 are playing, and the FLEX player can only return as a re-entry.

The "any 9 in that lineup can play anywhere on defense" is any 9 that includes the FLEX, unless the FLEX goes out of the game. The FLEX can not just bat and be on the bench like the DP or the other 8 players.

You are, of course, correct sir!

I meant - the DP can go out and play 2B next to the FLEX playing short....
__________________
www.chvbgsoinc.org
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question NFHS 46 agr8zebra Basketball 5 Fri Oct 31, 2008 05:56pm
NFHS thrower problem Damian Basketball 11 Mon Dec 03, 2007 10:30pm
NFHS Question 68 kraz423 Basketball 47 Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:06am
NFHS Question 24 MrRabbit Softball 15 Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:58pm
NFHS Question #35 ref18 Basketball 16 Tue Nov 18, 2003 01:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1