The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
problem with NFHS question #62

Here is the question with what I believe to be the correct answer, but am getting arguments from numerous umpire colleagues.

62. All the following are true regarding the FLEX player, except;
a. The FLEX is listed in the 10th position in the lineup.
b. The FLEX may be substituted for by the DP playing defense.
c. The FLEX may bat anywhere in one of the nine positions of the batting
order.
d. The FLEX may be replaced by a legal substitute at any time.
e. When the FLEX is substituted for, the team is down to nine players.

I answered e, but many around me say c is also a correct answer. I wholeheartedly disagree with them. Even the higher up person said there are two correct answers, c and e.

Is this question poorly worded for them or am I missing something? I say the Flex may bat anywhere in one of the nine positions of the batting order.( As long as the DP is listed there)

Any help here? Thanks, Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2011, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 109
I think e also. However, I can see c and e as the Flex can't bat anywhere in one of the nine positions of the batting order. She MUST bat in the DP's spot. The question is poorly worded. Imagine that.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 09, 2011, 07:44am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
The answer has to be "e". While I agree the wording isn't the best, think of it this way. In a game, can the FLEX bat in any of the 9 positions? No, they can only bat in one: the spot where the DP is batting in the lineup. So, for a particular game, the FLEX has only ONE spot in the lineup in which she can bat.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 09, 2011, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
It's just the phrasing.
The "anywhere" in "anywhere in one of the nine positions" means
as long as it is one of the nine positions, either batter box can be used.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 09, 2011, 08:03am
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
"e" would only be correct if the FLEX was substitued for using the DP.

Any other legal sub can be entered in the FLEX spot.


"c" however is incorrect on at least two points. The FLEX never bats. She may sub in for the DP but then she is no longer the FLEX. Also, there would only be one spot in the batting order she could enter, not "anywhere."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 11, 2011, 06:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEL View Post
The FLEX never bats. She may sub in for the DP but then she is no longer the FLEX.
I disagree with this. The FLEX may play offense for the DP, but that does not mean she is the new DP... she is still the FLEX.

From 3-3-6d:

The DP may be substituted for at any time by a legal substitute or the FLEX may play offense for the DP. In either case, the DP will leave the game. If replaced by a substitute, the DP position remains in the lineup.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 09, 2011, 09:50am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
It's just the phrasing.
The "anywhere" in "anywhere in one of the nine positions" means
as long as it is one of the nine positions, either batter box can be used.
Yeah ... but only one she can use is the one in which she is currently standing.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 10, 2011, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,386
I have as correct answers: a, b, d

Answer "e" is correct w/ the caveat that the DP was the person who was the substitute, as mentioned previously.

"Correct" meaning it's true of the Flex. Not to pick an answer to the question.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question NFHS 46 agr8zebra Basketball 5 Fri Oct 31, 2008 05:56pm
NFHS thrower problem Damian Basketball 11 Mon Dec 03, 2007 10:30pm
NFHS Question 68 kraz423 Basketball 47 Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:06am
NFHS Question 24 MrRabbit Softball 15 Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:58pm
NFHS Question #35 ref18 Basketball 16 Tue Nov 18, 2003 01:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1