The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 11, 2011, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 871
To me, a ball passing an infielder and hitting a runner means that the ball, the infielder(s) and runner are on the same side of the infield.

If F5 is playing 20 ft from HP and the ball is hit to the right side, I cannot consider the ball passing F5.
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 11, 2011, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 293
I think that we are getting away from the point here. I don't think anyone would talk about F3 and F5 as "past the infielder" in this situation.

This is a classic "intent of the rule" thought. Is there a play to be made to get an out in the situation (ASA)?

It was pretty fun to listen to two of the best softball officiating minds in the nation argue this point. In the end neither one would concede the point to the other. The rule book (ASA) does not allow the string theory (line between F6 and F4) but perhaps it should.
__________________
ASA,NCAA,FED,NAFA
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 11, 2011, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rachel View Post
I think that we are getting away from the point here. I don't think anyone would talk about F3 and F5 as "past the infielder" in this situation.

This is a classic "intent of the rule" thought. Is there a play to be made to get an out in the situation (ASA)?

It was pretty fun to listen to two of the best softball officiating minds in the nation argue this point. In the end neither one would concede the point to the other. The rule book (ASA) does not allow the string theory (line between F6 and F4) but perhaps it should.
Just curious....who were the two softball officiating minds and what were there respective positions on this situation? PM me if you don't want to post on the open forum.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 11, 2011, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
OK, let's set the geometry aside for now.

The point of the rule is that the runner is out because being hit with the ball presumably interfered with a fielder being able to field the ball to make a play. That is why the second clause is about a second fielder having a chance to make a play.

So, looking at it that way, if the ball hits the runner and there is no fielder near the original path of the ball behind the runner, then the intent of the rule is met with the runner not being out.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 11, 2011, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
Just curious....who were the two softball officiating minds and what were there respective positions on this situation? PM me if you don't want to post on the open forum.
Gee, I'd like to know, too!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 11, 2011, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Gulf Coast of TX to Destin Fl
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rachel View Post
I think that we are getting away from the point here. I don't think anyone would talk about F3 and F5 as "past the infielder" in this situation.

This is a classic "intent of the rule" thought. Is there a play to be made to get an out in the situation (ASA)?

It was pretty fun to listen to two of the best softball officiating minds in the nation argue this point. In the end neither one would concede the point to the other. The rule book (ASA) does not allow the string theory (line between F6 and F4) but perhaps it should.
Thank you to Rachel for getting this back on track. I could also argue either side of the point in ASA......but I believe that the way the rule is written an out must be called here.

I take it by Mike's silence that there is some dissension in the ASA ranks on whether an out should be called in this situation or not.

As to my opinion.....I believe an out should be called........not that it means anything.........

Joel

ps....Rachel.....you are one of the best minds in the country......what is your take on this?

I would also like to hear from AtlSteve and others!

Last edited by Gulf Coast Blue; Thu Aug 11, 2011 at 06:40pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 12, 2011, 12:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gulf Coast Blue View Post
Thank you to Rachel for getting this back on track. I could also argue either side of the point in ASA......but I believe that the way the rule is written an out must be called here.

I take it by Mike's silence that there is some dissension in the ASA ranks on whether an out should be called in this situation or not.

As to my opinion.....I believe an out should be called........not that it means anything.........

Joel

ps....Rachel.....you are one of the best minds in the country......what is your take on this?

I would also like to hear from AtlSteve and others!
I appreciate you asking, although I am pretty sure I am not one of those Rachel referred to. But I was at the same place, albeit not part of this discussion. I would guess the ones Rachel is referring to comes from the following Colorado Fireworks list: Emily A, Donna V, Willie N, Smokey E, Steve A, Kevin D, Dave N. Pretty great list, and I enjoyed listening to them on any number of topics.

I am going to disagree with something Andy said, and that, to me, is the key point. If we can say that a position behind the line between two defensive players is "behind" when relating to umpire interference, then that precedent has to also relate to runner interference. Behind is behind, not behind is not behind; there can't (shouldn't) be different interpretations based on who/what you are!!

And I agree with Rachel when she goes back to the intent of the rule (and definition of interference) that someone be disadvantaged for there to be a call. That is the basic difference with baseball; in baseball, if the ball contacts a runner, it is always interference, NO MATTER WHERE the defense is playing, in softball, it is meant to only be inteference if the contact stops the defense from making an apparent play. I know calling interference always is the easiest call to sell on this play (because of baseball); but it isn't always the right call in softball.

Still missed out on the conversation Rachel references; but would have loved to have been a fly on that wall.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF

Last edited by AtlUmpSteve; Fri Aug 12, 2011 at 01:02am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 12, 2011, 03:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Gulf Coast of TX to Destin Fl
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
I appreciate you asking, although I am pretty sure I am not one of those Rachel referred to. But I was at the same place, albeit not part of this discussion. I would guess the ones Rachel is referring to comes from the following Colorado Fireworks list: Emily A, Donna V, Willie N, Smokey E, Steve A, Kevin D, Dave N. Pretty great list, and I enjoyed listening to them on any number of topics.

I am going to disagree with something Andy said, and that, to me, is the key point. If we can say that a position behind the line between two defensive players is "behind" when relating to umpire interference, then that precedent has to also relate to runner interference. Behind is behind, not behind is not behind; there can't (shouldn't) be different interpretations based on who/what you are!!

And I agree with Rachel when she goes back to the intent of the rule (and definition of interference) that someone be disadvantaged for there to be a call. That is the basic difference with baseball; in baseball, if the ball contacts a runner, it is always interference, NO MATTER WHERE the defense is playing, in softball, it is meant to only be inteference if the contact stops the defense from making an apparent play. I know calling interference always is the easiest call to sell on this play (because of baseball); but it isn't always the right call in softball.

Still missed out on the conversation Rachel references; but would have loved to have been a fly on that wall.
Thank you Steve for your input. I am looking at this like a BR interference on a DK3.......ASA allows for the batter to unintentionlly interfere where NFHS has no such language......you either contacted the ball or you didn't.

As noted.......I could argue on either side of this one.......but my personal opinion is that in Rachel's OP......it is interference.

Never made it up to the Firecracker.....although an umpire buddy (and my mechanic) has been several times as a coach.....never had anything but good things to say (other than logistics).......

Thanks again for your input....

Joel
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 12, 2011, 07:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
I have been sitting back reading on this one (not right to say listening) the issue I have is if R1 leads off 2B and the ball is one step behind them just to the 3B side of the base and R1 and the SS collide and we judge there is no chance for the SS to have made a play on the ball we have no INT, in fact we would have OBS. BUT if that runner is slower to get off the base and it happens to hit them just off the base and the SS in the same situation (IMJ had no play on the ball) we have an out?? I know that's what the rule says, barring this discussion we are having about when the runner is behind the fielders, but that just doesn't seem fair. And before anyone says it I know life isn't fair but the rules are kinda sorta suppose to help make the game fair
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 12, 2011, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rachel View Post
This is a classic "intent of the rule" thought. Is there a play to be made to get an out in the situation (ASA)?
Does what I said (Yesterday 12:16pm) fit with your point here?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 12, 2011, 07:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
First, let's address the baseball side of this discussion. Baseball does not dictate where a runner must be at the time of the pitch, softball does. Baseball runners are 50% farther away from the batter than softball. But you cannot have a rule that is only effective within so many feet of a base, so it has to apply everywhere.

AFA the "string" theory, that would be easy to see in the FP game, however, in the SP game, it would be a rarity that the runner on 2B would be behind the "string" especially in a 5-man infield.

I think it is something you will know when you see it and I'm not really looking for a string.

However, you cannot lose focus if you have a short or charging OF that undoubted has a play and you may still have an INT situation.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 13, 2011, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 293
Cecil:

Your tag line says that we cannot invent rulings to fit our opinions. The ASA book does not allow us to call "play on". As much as it should be no interference the book doesn't let us call that.

The situation doesn't meet both of the criteria.

My personal opinion is that it should not be interference. BUT I would have to go with an out as I would be overruled in a protest.

This is good discussion.
__________________
ASA,NCAA,FED,NAFA
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 18, 2011, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Lucky me. I had this happen to me last evening. String or other conspiracy theories aside, I called an out.

Runners on first and second, 1 out. Batter hits a hard grounder past the pitcher on the SS side of second base. Runner attempted to jump over the ball which just clipped the heel on one of her shoes. The ball continued on into center field without any noticeable deflection.

I called dead ball and the runner out. This call was made more by ear than by sight. I only had a chance to take a step or two towards 2B, saw the jump and heard an audible click.

F6 or F4 had no prayer of making a play on this ball, but they were playing on the cut of the infield - very deep. Since no one saw the ball deflect or the runner react from being hit, the O-team wasn't too happy. Walking back to "B" after explaining the call to coach at third base, F4 said "good call, blue", but, since it was in their favor, she could have said it even if I kicked the call.

BTW, women's slow pitch game.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball

Last edited by Tru_in_Blu; Thu Aug 18, 2011 at 02:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 18, 2011, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
she could have said it even if I kicked the call.
Or, kicked the ball !
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fielder carries ball out of play bossman72 Baseball 11 Thu Jul 26, 2007 02:08am
Fielder loses possession; Ball out of play Lapopez Baseball 37 Fri Aug 12, 2005 04:49pm
Interference with Fielder - Batted Ball Blue37 Baseball 6 Tue Mar 08, 2005 10:48am
batter interference with ball thrown by fielder Ernie Marshall Baseball 5 Tue Apr 23, 2002 07:37am
T/F - A fielder in possession of the ball can never be guilty of obstruction. Dakota Softball 2 Thu Oct 11, 2001 07:13pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1