![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
ASA does not recognize any sort of "String" theory. The ball actually has to pass and infielder......in Rachel's OP.....it did not. The ball is dead and the runner is out. Yes......this is going by the black and white of the rule. If ASA wants me to judge anything else, they can create a case play or interpretation in the UM. Joel |
|
|||
Which goes back to the OP Q (and mine) of how to define "passes", and how close to the "passed" fielder the ball has to be.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Joel |
|
|||
Without meaning to hijack this "string", let's suppose the infield puts on a shift for a left handed batter. F5 still plays close to third base. F3, F4, F6 now all on the right side of the infield.
On the pitch, runner from second attempts a steal of third. Batter hits the ball to where F6 would normally play and the ball strikes the runner. Has the ball passed an infielder? Out or play on?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
To me, a ball passing an infielder and hitting a runner means that the ball, the infielder(s) and runner are on the same side of the infield.
If F5 is playing 20 ft from HP and the ball is hit to the right side, I cannot consider the ball passing F5.
__________________
Tony |
|
|||
I think that we are getting away from the point here. I don't think anyone would talk about F3 and F5 as "past the infielder" in this situation.
This is a classic "intent of the rule" thought. Is there a play to be made to get an out in the situation (ASA)? It was pretty fun to listen to two of the best softball officiating minds in the nation argue this point. In the end neither one would concede the point to the other. The rule book (ASA) does not allow the string theory (line between F6 and F4) but perhaps it should.
__________________
ASA,NCAA,FED,NAFA |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Fielder carries ball out of play | bossman72 | Baseball | 11 | Thu Jul 26, 2007 02:08am |
Fielder loses possession; Ball out of play | Lapopez | Baseball | 37 | Fri Aug 12, 2005 04:49pm |
Interference with Fielder - Batted Ball | Blue37 | Baseball | 6 | Tue Mar 08, 2005 10:48am |
batter interference with ball thrown by fielder | Ernie Marshall | Baseball | 5 | Tue Apr 23, 2002 07:37am |
T/F - A fielder in possession of the ball can never be guilty of obstruction. | Dakota | Softball | 2 | Thu Oct 11, 2001 07:13pm |