The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 15, 2011, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
That still leaves a gap inbetween those two case plays. A double touch is not likely to have been the cause of R1 leaving early, but not releasing the pitch after starting the wind up certainly can be. In that case, I disagree with ruling R1 out EVEN IF there is no judgment of willful intent... How would you judge that anyway? The IP "caused" the runner to leave before the pitch was thrown (because R1 was timing the pitch, and the pitch was never thrown). Officially, the only two options are to call the runner out or eject the pitcher? Not right.
I agree and have expressed that frustration at meetings when I first was aware of the ruling.
It just doesn't make sense to me.

BUT............
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THIS had never happened . . . until now! bigdogrunnin Basketball 36 Thu Feb 26, 2009 10:41am
Whatever happened to "Whatever happened to class"? UmpJM Baseball 7 Sat Jul 30, 2005 03:49pm
Expanded Neutral Zone on Punt - Play happened tonight CruiseMan Football 6 Sat Oct 30, 2004 10:51pm
Screwy wording SamNVa Softball 17 Thu Oct 02, 2003 11:05am
A Play I can not find in rules or case... Actually happened. Self Basketball 111 Tue Dec 18, 2001 12:11am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1