![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
4. When a runner, while advancing or returning to a base a. Is obstructed by a fielder who neither has the ball or b. Is attempting to field a batted or thrown ball, or c. When a fielder fakes a tag without the ball EFFECT: The obstructed runner and all other ... As you can see this is clearly nonsensical. Maybe they've fixed it but I don't have my rule book here. But as I understand the rule (ignoring the text for a moment). The first fielder trying to field the ball can't commit obstruction she's entitled to field the ball. If you read it in that light 4b clause 1 has to be extending the exception in a As if it read is obstructed by a fielder who neither has the the ball nor is attempting to field a batted ball. And if you're reading it that way it also reads a thrown ball. I think this clause means to express that a fielder who isn't obstructing a runner can reach for the ball even if that creates contact with a runner if the ball is there. Maybe those people here who know what they are talking about can clarify that. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Obstruction Question | MountieSB | Softball | 37 | Tue Jul 13, 2010 05:03pm |
| Obstruction question. | Illini_Ref | Baseball | 10 | Mon Aug 03, 2009 12:48pm |
| Another Obstruction Question(s). | THREE | Softball | 15 | Fri Jun 20, 2008 09:22am |
| Obstruction question | JPhanatic | Softball | 6 | Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:53pm |
| Question on obstruction | dsimp8 | Softball | 37 | Fri Jun 10, 2005 10:35am |