The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 13, 2011, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveASA/FED View Post
...And I would bet money will be next year!!
I might take that bet... it's been in there for years now, and this is not the first time the inconsistency has been noted! But, then, if all of the ambiguities, inconsistencies, poor grammar, and fractured syntax were removed from the ASA book, we wouldn't recognized it!
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 13, 2011, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
I might take that bet... it's been in there for years now, and this is not the first time the inconsistency has been noted! But, then, if all of the ambiguities, inconsistencies, poor grammar, and fractured syntax were removed from the ASA book, we wouldn't recognized it!
In 2009, ASA changed rule 3-1 with regards to non-approved bats. They didn't change the Rule 1 definition of a non-approved bat to reflect what was said in 3-1 until 2011.

It happens. There are so many cross-references, it's easy to miss something in editing. I suspect that's what happened here.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 13, 2011, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
I don't understand the ambiguity - the rule clearly states that if a baserunner is attempting to field a batted ball or catch a thrown ball they cannot be guilty of obstruction. Given that I've never seen that and likely won't, I think I can safely ignore 4b entirely.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 15, 2011, 07:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
I might take that bet... it's been in there for years now, and this is not the first time the inconsistency has been noted! But, then, if all of the ambiguities, inconsistencies, poor grammar, and fractured syntax were removed from the ASA book, we wouldn't recognized it!
I have a feeling Dave is dealing with "insider information" on this one and that is good. This portion of the rule will receive attention and probably be rectified. We may even see a clarification before the summer is out.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 28, 2011, 09:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,386
Still in the OBS thread, but new question

Many times at lower levels, and some at higher levels, F3 stands on 1B when a ball has clearly made it to the outfield. The runner, as taught, wants to hit the inside corner of 1B on the way to 2B. Because F3 is standing there, runner usually diverts around and actually has to use the safety base on her way to 2B.

So we have OBS. But it seems as though it happened before the runner ever touched 1B. We call OBS on F3. Between which two bases is the runner protected?
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 28, 2011, 09:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Many times at lower levels, and some at higher levels, F3 stands on 1B when a ball has clearly made it to the outfield. The runner, as taught, wants to hit the inside corner of 1B on the way to 2B. Because F3 is standing there, runner usually diverts around and actually has to use the safety base on her way to 2B.

So we have OBS. But it seems as though it happened before the runner ever touched 1B. We call OBS on F3. Between which two bases is the runner protected?
Was the runner still on an OBS path after touching 1B?

IMJ, the runner is protected between 1st & 2nd.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 28, 2011, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
obstructed before, during and after she's at first I agree with Irish if she is still recovering from the obstruction after touching first she was also obstructed after being at first so she has protection between 1st and 2nd.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 29, 2011, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Many times at lower levels, and some at higher levels, F3 stands on 1B when a ball has clearly made it to the outfield. The runner, as taught, wants to hit the inside corner of 1B on the way to 2B. Because F3 is standing there, runner usually diverts around and actually has to use the safety base on her way to 2B.

So we have OBS. But it seems as though it happened before the runner ever touched 1B. We call OBS on F3. Between which two bases is the runner protected?
Honestly, if obstruction happens because of a fielder ON a base, I'm protecting her on both sides of the bag. (If this same scenario happened at third, she can't be out between 2nd and 3rd because she was obstructed while she was between 2nd and 3rd. She's still being obstructed after passing third, so she can't be out between 3rd and home either.

Granted ... it's the rare scenario indeed where she would need that protection behind the base (bet 2 and 3 in this case) but I believe she has it if she needs it.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 29, 2011, 02:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 262
In NSA, if the obstruction is on BR before BR reaches first base, its a dead ball.

Other rule sete?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 29, 2011, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
In NSA, if the obstruction is on BR before BR reaches first base, its a dead ball.

Other rule sete?
I did not know that. Learn something new every day. I don't think it's in any other rule set.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 29, 2011, 04:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
In NSA, if the obstruction is on BR before BR reaches first base, its a dead ball.

Other rule sete?
I don't work NSA or keep up with their rules, so I will take you at your word. I do wonder, however, why in the world there would be such a rule.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2011, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
I don't work NSA or keep up with their rules, so I will take you at your word. I do wonder, however, why in the world there would be such a rule.
Funny, I always thought it was a very strange ruling, but didn't know that it was unique to NSA. What make it more interesting, is that NSA's flaw is that they are usually "silent" on many situations and rare occurances, so to actually spell this out must have a story behind it.

FYI:
RULE 8, Sec. 5, b. Effect:1. "If a play is being made on the obstructed runner or if the batter-runner is obstructed before reaching 1st base, the ball is dead...."

Another interesting note is that it states ""If a play is being made on the obstructed runner...the ball is dead..." It does NOT say that the play must be AT THE TIME of the obstruction. In other words, as written, if a runner is obstructed say between 1st and 2nd and later D throws to 3B to attempt to retire that runner, you have a dead ball when the play is made.

Last edited by robbie; Mon May 02, 2011 at 09:53am. Reason: typos (many....)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction Question MountieSB Softball 37 Tue Jul 13, 2010 05:03pm
Obstruction question. Illini_Ref Baseball 10 Mon Aug 03, 2009 12:48pm
Another Obstruction Question(s). THREE Softball 15 Fri Jun 20, 2008 09:22am
Obstruction question JPhanatic Softball 6 Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:53pm
Question on obstruction dsimp8 Softball 37 Fri Jun 10, 2005 10:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1